Make a habit out of creating

in #work7 years ago

pexels-photo-102127.jpeg

One of the biggest problems people have whenever it comes to working on a creative field, like writing or painting, is that they think they need inspiration in order to create something decent. I'm not saying inspiration doesn't help, but it's not a definitive factor that will change the outcome of your work. With or without inspiration, you should be able to create something.

That's when making a habit out of creating can help a lot, especially in those situations when you don't have any more ideas for articles, drawings or design projects. Creating something every single day, with or without inspiration, will help you form a routine that will improve your ability to create high quality content as often as possible.

Besides that, doing something creative every single day will help you get better at what you do. It doesn't matter if it's writing or programming, what matters is that doing the same thing again and again will help you get more experience, get new ideas and produce better results.

For example, a few months ago I was writing, daily, around 1000 words on a personal journal. I did it in order to track my progress and make sure I work as much as I have to every single day. That journal required me to write for around 10 to 20 minutes for at least five days a week, coming up with new ways to formulate my ideas and to write everything down in a readable way.

When I first started I was barely able to write 500 words, and most of the things I wrote barely made sense. I wasn't able to put two ideas on paper without feeling bad about how horrible those ideas were, and I was never excited about writing.

However, in just a few weeks, after doing the same thing again and again I got better at writing, and 1000 words a day became a pretty easy goal to accomplish. I was finishing my task really fast, the ideas were decent and everything was readable. All that because I made a habit out of writing daily, out of creating, and I got better at it.

It was the same with working in Photoshop, especially when creating Actions. I hated Actions in Photoshop, mainly because I couldn't understand how they worked. I never really wanted to create anything similar to that, but I was running out of ideas for design packages, so I started, one day, to create Actions.

I did that once, and my package was rejected from Graphic River. Then I did it again and again, until I finally learned how Actions worked and how to create one pretty fast, without wasting time on things that didn't really matter. In just a few months of daily creating I was able to create actions within 15 to 30 minutes and get them on Graphic River.

Now it's extremely easy for me to come up with an effect for an image, make it into an action and then upload the package to either Graphic River or Creative Market. Making a habit out of creating Actions helped me become better at that particular thing.

It's been the same with writing and almost everything I did. Inspiration was and still is important in some cases, but what's more important is that I made a habit out of creating something every single day, my brain got used to that and now I'm able to come up with at least decent content daily, without having to spend hours looking for something to inspire me.

I'm pretty confident that if you would take an hour and make a schedule that would give you enough time to create something every day, you will get better at whatever you want to do, because once you start practicing daily, you will get really good at that particular thing, enough to publish your content somewhere, get feedback and even some rewards for it.

Sort:  

Awesome post, I really enjoyed it. I hope you appreciate the vote!

Thank, I do :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.67
ETH 3086.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86