Love the result enough to forget about the process

in #work7 years ago

woman-hand-pen-girl.jpg

There are a lot of people out there who despite not loving writing, they love the result - the articles or books they create. That's one of the main reasons they spend time writing, and if it wouldn't be for the result, they would stop, because the process either bores them or is too frustrating. This applies to almost any activity out there.

That's why I believe we should all try to find a way to go around this, at least if we have to do something we hate, even tho we love the result. In my case is working in Photoshop, at least sometimes. I don't particularly like it, not because I don't like Photoshop, but because I'm not a great graphic designer.

I know how the software works and in some cases I can finish my work faster than other people just because I spent so much time learning it, but when it comes to designing something, when it comes to getting an idea and playing with photos and effects to create something, that's where I don't feel good about what I do.

It's easy for me to imagine things and come up with words to describe them, but it's harder when I have to use other resources to create a visual representation of what's in my head. That's why working in Photoshop in order to create something is, pretty often, both boring and annoying.

However, the main reason I still work in that software and in graphic design is because I love the result. If I spent 20 minutes in Photoshop trying to create an action featuring a photo effect, I may not enjoy those 20 minutes, but I do love the end result, when I finally see what I managed to create.

It doesn't matter what I do, the end result, if it's something good, motivates me enough to keep working in graphic design despite not being in love with the process. And I believe more and more people who don't particularly love what they do should try to find a result they love so much and they are so proud of, that they forget about the painfully frustrating process and they just focus on getting at the end.

Of course, this has disadvantages as well. For example, sometimes I get into Photoshop and I want to get to the result so much, that I work too fast and my work has to suffer because of that. Same thing happens when I draw, and this is one of the main reasons I never really managed to learn that skill. I just want to get to the end result so much that I hurry the process more than I should.

Having to do something you don't always love it's a part of our life, and we all have to go through that at some point. What we can do to forget about the frustration we feel when that happens is to focus on the result that we love enough to make us forget about the process.

Once you learn how to do that and once you learn how to find a balance between focusing on the result while also making sure you don't hurry the process too much, you'll find that you're enjoying what you do without having to feel miserable in the process while still being excited about the end result.

Sort:  

Right on @raikuhen :) Great advice. Upvoted, Resteemed & Following.

I appreciate the synchronicity as I am presently working towards cultivating this balance in my life.

Cheers!!! and Happy Steeming!!

Thank you, I'm glad to see you're working towards that amazing goal! A balanced life is a happy life! :)

Cheers to that! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58110.30
ETH 2687.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30