My grandfather worked for the same company for 58 years. Can you imagine that?

in #work7 years ago

My grandfather worked for the same company for 58 years. Can you imagine that?

His entire career he was a baker at a commercial bakery. His title never changed; his job duties remained the same. Everyday. Same building.

He provided for his family, owned a modest home, loved every minute he had with his wife, kids and grandkids.

When I was little, I remember laying on their shag-carpeted family room floor watching Toy Story for the 170th time, and my grandfather would be paying bills. "Casey, you won't believe it!" he'd say. "We cleared $8 this month."

He literally looked like the richest man in the world to me. To me, he was the richest man in the world. Actually, I have yet to find anyone richer.

He taught me many things growing up. One he said often, "If you are ever in a position to help someone and you don't, then you ought not be in that position."

The saying spoke of his heart; his goodness and kindness toward others.

My grandfather passed away 2 years ago today. He was forever happy with what life gave to him.

So today, be thankful for what and who you have in your life. Because if you're able to read this, you have much to be thankful for.

Sort:  

your grand father sounds like he was a great man,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55