Some days suck.

in #work6 years ago

I'm gonna kill my operator

So a little about my job, I work for an oilfield pressure pumping company and I am a "Cementing and Stimulation supervisor".

I recently was sent to a matrix acidizing followed by remedial squeeze cement job.

Basically it goes like this;

Pump 500 litres of 15% hydrochloric acid down the well and into zone of interest, then batch up heavy cement slurry and pump it down to plug the hole we just expanded with the acid.

Open it up to seal it off properly. This is done when an oilwell is causing problems, it's a way to repair a well that is either producing from a zone it shouldn't be or is potentially contaminating other zones or water zones.

The problem is this time I had a new operator, who is very experienced, but new to me. I asked him if he knew how to properly wash a remedial truck, because the process is different from what most guys know. He assured me he had done lots of remedial work...

Fast forward to 7 days later. I am taking the pumper we used to another district so they can go to the North West Territories with it and utilize it. And this is what we found when myself and the other supervisor started going over the truck....

Start to the pile of debris from tank


20180302_123248.jpg

Inside front of mix tank

20180302_105254.jpg

Access to bottom suction lines

These should be hollow piping

20180302_104340.jpg

20180302_104716.jpg

20180302_104306.jpg

Boulder retrieval

20180302_124554.jpg

20180302_124548.jpg

I went in and got the first one and then a couple operators went in and got the second one.

Swinging sledge hammers and crow bars inside that tank is a serious pain in the ass, and then we had to whittle them down to a size that would fit out the hatch...

Success

20180302_130728.jpg

20180302_130714.jpg

20180302_131029.jpg

Hard hat for comparison

20180302_131038.jpg

So, I'll reiterate, when that operator gets back from days off... I'm going to kill him.

Sort:  

When i was in high school my dad was in prison so to help my mom with the bills i got a job at the local block plant that makes all sorts of concrete blocks. I lied on my application about my age because my mc donalds and taco bell job wasn't cutting it. Every night at the end of shift i had to lock out/ tag out the giant mixer about 1.5 times the size of a common cement truck and crawl inside with an air hammer and shovel and clean out all of the dried on cement so it wouldn't contaminate the next days pour. I would attribute that as 99% of why i cant hear worth a shit. i feel your pain and my ears still ring from it.

What a pain in the ass! great pics and post dude, I sort of miss heavy machinery but I don't miss days like that :)

Good job on keeping it on the downlow lol

No one is going to let him live it down, didn't see the point in jeopordizing his job over it ... lol!

omg. all from one guy screwing up. i bet your whole crew is livid.

Very much so...

That is ridiculous!!!

Make sure you take care please....

wow, he is screwing up everyones day! ... hope you were not too aggravated

Had it delayed a job for a customer, it would have been a lot worse. But it just cost all of us a day in the shop.

uh oh... was he fired after??

No. We covered for him, main bosses don't even know...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85