Just a NursesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #work7 years ago (edited)

I once had a patient that was very upset when they found out I was just the nurse. I am just the nurse that:

  1. Holds your loved ones hand and comforts them when they are in pain
  2. Spends time listening to their stories when family and friends are not there
  3. Gets yet another warm blanket to help them warm up
  4. Finds beverages and snacks to keep them full
  5. Calls the doctor to get medicine to ease pain and suffering
  6. Makes sure that the proper medications are given
  7. Takes them to the bathroom and cleans up diarrhea all over themselves and the bed
  8. Checks up on them to make sure they are doing alright
  9. Makes sure further treatment is given if they start to decline
  10. Educates them on taking care of their body
  11. Prepares them for procedures they may have in the morning
  12. Listens to complaints and tries to resolve any issues
  13. Assesses them and their condition, making sure they are receiving the care they need
  14. Advocates for them with the healthcare team when necessary
    Yes, I am just a nurse. I am the link a patient has 24/7. I do my best to be deserving of the trust placed on me. Please appreciate the nurses that care for your loved ones, they do just about everything to take care of your loved ones, and often ignore their own physical needs to make sure that patients are getting the care they need in a timely fashion.

942971_261802637299717_1847938623_n.jpg

Sort:  

really great post its very deep thanks a lot for sharing and keep on posting ;)

I'm a spoonie and so I've had my fair share of living in the hospital. I appreciate your hard work and can only hope others would see the sacrifices nurses do for the patients in their care. But I've also noticed that for most patients, their condition makes them emotional and to a point, it makes them childish. It's like a child who wants her mommy (doctor) instead of her big sis/big bro (nurses). I know it's wrong but for the (usually) really sick ones, they tend to need the assurance that mommy does know what's going on and not just big sis. With that said, thank you for being an awesome nurse. Just keep on doing you and though you're not always appreciated, know that there will be at least one person who'll be thankful that you exist :)

I am also a nurse, I really agree with what you say. sacrificing personal interests for the sake of the patient. greeting nurse

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87