I'm Listening To You Through Your Phone - My Awkward New "Job"

in #work7 years ago

"Call best daughter in the world"

It was at this point I realized how creepy my new crowdsourcing job was.

It was said in the voice of a lovable chinese woman. Apparently her phone was having trouble understanding her accent which probably resulted in this woman becoming very frustrated afterwards. Now here I am listening to what this woman has decided to label her daughter in her phone (I hope it's her daughter...) all in an effort to make her phone a bit smarter.

It's not exactly what I signed up for. "Transcribe audio recordings" was the description on the offer page. I got there from my favorite faucet site, moon bitcoin (referral link). As I went through the entries there were a lot of numbers. Then a few addresses. I started to realize this probably had something to do with navigation, but it was when it got to "Call Stephen" that I realized I was listening to people giving commands to their phone.

A bit unsettling, but it wasn't until this friendly chinese woman trying to call her daughter that I realized just how personal this could get. I don't know who this woman is and there's no way to find out, but she doesn't know me either. I, some stranger from Canada that's desperate for some sort of income while he's on the job hunt, is listening in to the things her phone decides may be important but hard to understand.

At 272 satoshi per page and each page taking about a minute this pays about $7-9 per hour at current BTC prices. Not great, but I need the money right now. If I keep at this I can make rent next month. Still, while I realize what I'm doing will legitimately help people with their phone usage, that doesn't make the task seem any less creepy.

Sort:  

What an interesting blog about the nether regions on the web. Nice work if you can get it.

Sounds very interesting, could you please give me the name of the site which offers this job.
Thank you in advance

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62