Minimising Smartphone Distraction While Working

in #work7 years ago

Smartphones have come to stay, they are definitely part of the lives of many around the word. There are times when it may become a source of distraction, then the smartphone will need to be tamed. No matter the situation you find yourself, be it working, or even while in a meeting there some tips on how you can reduce this distraction I'll be sharing. While writing this post, my smartphone was a source of distraction, from messages from social networks to voice calls. I had to use some of the tips below.



Silent vs vibration mode

Some group of thought believe that vibration should be chosen over the silent mode when in a meeting or in a place you want no distraction. But the thing is, vibration mode itself may be a distraction. Let's say I don't want my phone to distract me while composing this post and I put in a vibration mode. When messages arrive, my phone would keep on beeping and that itself is a distraction. So I would choose the silent mode and ignore all notifications for just that period. Putting a phone in a silent mode does not stop the notifications from coming, it's just that you would not get notified when it comes.


Do Not Disturb (DND Mode)

Oh, yeah this is mode common in most smartphones these days, be it - android or ios phones. With this mode you can enjoy some features that will reduce the number of notifications you receive. You can select priority applications, depending on their importance to you. For the period that you are busy, maybe an hour you can put your phone in that mode.



Turning off your data

You can decide to turn off your data (or Internet connectivity) while working since social media apps will not be able to disturb you when you do so. Only text messages and calls will be able to come in that way. If you have a business line that you do not want to be down for even a minute, this will be your best option.



Removing Apps that are not needed

It is best to uninstall apps that you have not opened for months that keeps distracting you with notifications. I had one Airtime App on my phone some months ago that even send me news updates. It was really weird and the news updates were like spam, it was definitely not needed. I had to uninstall after a week or so, I could not continue with it's disturbance. If you feel there is an app disturbing unnecessarily, do well to uninstall.

All images used are under Creative Commons CC0, uploaded on http://Pixabay.com.

Thanks for reading :)


follow_jaff8.gif

Sort:  

This post was quite informative
I believe personally that silenting your phone will only minimize distraction but not at all times
Some people are already addicted to their phones
No matter which form they choose, they still end up being distracted
That's where discipline comes to play
We must discipline ourselves to make sure that whatever we have said we will do, we should keep to it
lastly I will prefer the vibration mode anyday anytime because sometimes a call may be a matter of life and death at that instant
If you don't pick it might just cause someone his/her life.
Great post all around @jaff8

OS

using the silent method is a very common and wide range thing

friend you are really right the phone becomes in our life a hindrance to do everyday things and in our work. It is amazing how a small device can dominate our world. the day of the lovers went out with my husband to celebrate in a restaurant, and I saw how the couples were submerged in their cell phones while they waited for the food, even while they ate they could not take their eyes off the screens. it is very sad

Wonderful tips @jaff8.
I prefer the Do Not Disturb mode.
One should be totally focused in whatever thing they are doing. You can always get back to the messages or calls you missed, but you might never have the chance to re-do your work. Today people are just to addicted to smartphones and it is really bad.

I have been battling with this issues of working or learning and still using the phone for years l think this post is all l need ....Thanks for helping me out...@jaff8 God bliss you

How nice to find this kind of post! Sincerely the phone has become indispensable in our lives and although we can not see it influences much in our daily life. But, simply if we do not want to distract ourselves we place it in silence and ready. By the way, thanks for sharing in relation to the DND because I did not know. Thank you in advance for this informative publication.

If definitely the smart phones are our day to dis, thank you for sharing your councils I will take them into account

Hello friend @jaff8, thanks for the information I will try to take your tips so as not to distract me with the phone while busy at work or driving, Regards

Hello my dear friend @jaff8, thank you very much for this information and those tips that I will take very much into account so that the cell phone does not distract me. Greetings and we are reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74