Why do people go to work?

in #work6 years ago (edited)

I'm sitting (about to eat) as I have just a few minutes before I leave the house for a job. This job isn't writing, but it's the job that gets me there and while there are days where my existential crisis comes with me to work, but most of the time it's just boring or lacks an avenue for creativity. So why do creative people still go to work?

No seriously, why? Comment below. What do you think?

My morning feelings on this are a little biased, but I'm going to attempt to give a more personal explanation anyways, and hopefully you like it!

Some people go because they have family and their supporting government or state programs don't properly support the transition from one job to another. This means one or two people make the income for a large family, and any gap in income days means lots of hunger and bills not getting paid. Switching jobs in some areas takes
weeks before your paycheck comes in, and some jobs don't actually plan on hiring you for weeks, because interviewing enough candidates takes time.

Some people go to work because they don't believe there is another option. This job pays bills and allows me to save up for some equipment/training/transition period until I'm able to get my side business up and running, etc. This works because the pay is actually good enough to feel like you're making progress. For those that don't
feel like pay is enough, you've probably considered quitting many times, but never have because it feels like such a huge risk no matter how you start it, and the job you have is just enough to keep things running so you stay.

Some people go to work because it's fulfilling, or it at least puts them around the kind of work they want to do. I wish I could say this is my job, but like I said, mine currently just pays the bills, and a little bit I get to save to buy some gear I need for my side business. These people are happy because the opportunities around them look more and more like fun and interesting things. I'm jealous! But I'm almost there so I'm hanging on.

Please share your experience! Some people need encouragement to go to work and
keep grinding. Struggle is real.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63887.77
ETH 3417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56