Mid-week Musings: Organization

in #work7 years ago

My desk at work is covered in sticky notes with reminders of things I need to do. It is getting bad, and, as the new year is here, I find myself rethinking my current organizational strategy at work.

400C76BD-E8DC-46A7-8DE0-7FB847CFF7E3.jpeg

I have used a number of different methods to get organized - outlook task reminders, hand written checklists/reminders, sticky notes, online organizational tools, and excel spreadsheets. I am not sure which has worked the best for me, but I do know I need to be more consistent in whatever method I do use, as I tend to start new lists based on old lists and vary my method quite frequently.

Regardless of the organizational checklist used, one thing that has helped make me more productive is making a "budget" for my day where I tell my time what I am going to do with it by planning out my daily schedule, as opposed to letting the day come to me and wondering where the time went at the end of the day. This method has made me more productive for sure, but hasn't solved the "tracking" issues I need to figure out.

My work is highly varied from day to day, and I have people and departments I manage, so I need to stay flexible and open, but still need to simply get some things done. The checklists are important so that nothing gets missed, even if I am not doing the specific task myself. Therefore, I will inquire of my Steemit friends - What is your method of keeping organized?

Thank you!
Brian

Sort:  

Just one year to go, STEEM will help you to get rid of all the post-it.

Friend that good tips to keep organized our work site in the Office, thankful for the information you have shared

I am the sticky note queen! I like to organize them in my calendar so I can pull when finished and update with new. Color code. Yellow is family. Green is bills, etc. Good luck! Blessings in 2018

Smart! I like that! Best to you in 2018 as well!

Budgeting is really helpful, I use reminders on my phone sometimes so that I won't forgo some tasks. Although, I give more time to some unplanned things at the end of the day. Lol

Good thinking and good tip! Thanks for posting!

Lists lists and lists again. Also sticky notes works wonders for my absentminded nature :)

Please vote for my articles I need some money for my tuition fee pls

Good Post friend.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by brian.rrr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations, you have received a free upvote from @bonds!

Bonds offers services to STEEMians, such as account creation, upvoting and reSTEEM services.

Bonds is not a bot- this is run by humans, for humans.

Check out our blog to find- out more- if you like the idea, like or reSTEEM it, and we all benefit.

Happy STEEMing!

I am a school teacher, so I have gotten into the habit of keeping a list on the dry erase board. I make it so that is large enough to see from across the room; otherwise, I'm like you: I'll have a dozen different list spread out all over the place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62311.78
ETH 2418.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67