You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One word each day: Day 1

in #words8 years ago (edited)

I think I'm gonna enjoy following you. Did you know "terrific" means "to incite terror"? I pretend to take offense when someone says "have a terrific day".

Sort:  

I knooow lol English language is sooooo awesome !! lol

Ultimate is another commonly confused word. Have you ever heard the stories of "the Knights of the helmet" and how they helped restructur the English lanuage? I'm not sure if it's true but apparently it was a group led by Francis bacon. It's interesting though.

I never knew! This reminds me of incredible, which means cannot be believed! Not quite the same as awesome or great, which is what it seems to mean. Haha

The meaning of some words have changed so much over time that people forget what they actually meant. It goes the same for specific phrases like: "Great minds think alike, but fools rarely differ." Lots of people don't know the second part of that phrase.

Right! Lots of words change over time. Like the word guy haha. I actually didn't know about the second part either!

You are welcome :) Same goes with "Curiosity killed the cat , but satisfaction brought it back"

Now I've heard of that second part, but barely remember it and haven't heard anyone really say that second part. =O Probably it's just too long and people get lazy saying the whole thing. =D

Now I've heard of that second part, but barely remember it and haven't heard anyone really say that second part. =O Probably it's just too long and people get lazy saying the whole thing. =D

Or they simply don't like it ! :D

Yes! That too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46