Breaking Down Words & The Art Of WordPlay/Schemes # 1 (Original Blog)

in #wordplay7 years ago (edited)

The art of wordplay is so interesting to me and I use it often. There are so many ways to approach writing, especially in the form of poetry, rhymes and Hip Hop. I know many of you are privy to my writing styles, which can vary depending on what I'm writing about but I wanted to visually show you the literary creative process of breaking down a word or words into many facets of interpretations, changing the context and splicing the words between the syllables to bring more out from a small beginning. We can expand this concept and I can show you, for example, by taking a common, three syllable word such as "Hamburger."

Take a look into my explosive mind of creativity as I break this word down before writing anything in structured sentences:

Untouched & Neutral: Hamburger - A noun, a type of food, also known as burger

Now we break it up into syllables

Ham-Bur-Ger

Words/Sounds I See Between The Sets Of Letters:
Ha (a sound of laughter)
Mm (a sound of satisfaction, particularly with food consumption or similar indulgence)
Brr (a sound/physical reaction to frigid/freezing weather)
Grr (an aggressive sound stemming from irritation, protectiveness, or anger)
Ham (a type of meat/pig)
Ham (a person's name, a male's moniker)
Ham (an adjective, describing someone doing something with skill, effective and focused intention, or with intense dedication e.g. I'm going ham on this racing game! I can't stop playing, I'm just too good!)
Berg (short for ice berg, a mountain berg or hill)
Er (a sound expressing hesitation e.g. Er...yeah I guess I can drive you home.)
Er (an abbreviation for Emergency Room)

So I can't see any other ways I can break that word down further, but if you see anything you can also drop it in the comments section below and exercise your thinking skills and read between the letters.

Then I can play around with a scheme which would involve the hamburger in a rhyme scheme and anything related to it for fun. I just see this as an exercise to keep the brain sharp for future songs and poems. It doesn't have to be genius, complex or complicated. Even simple schemes can be satisfying and then advanced and elaborated further more down the road.

For Example if I were to write in Battle Rap form/Rap Battle form, which I used to do for fun in high school with my friends. I could say some pretty corny/cheesy things while I show examples of wordplay referencing things around hamburger like:


Man, simmer down! You think you're way too hot, dog 'til...
I catch you camped out in sight, as I fire upon your grill

You wanted beef? Man, Please! This here is high stakes
I'll be snapping on you quicker when I'm swinging like the vine breaks

I'll change your size, shape, with a right, straight, with a sleight fake, and a tight fade
You'll be sleeping, heavy breathing over shocked still with your eyes wake!

I got enough bread and cheddar to cover this beef top to bottom, that's a hamburger
I'll have my people jumping you quicker than an Olympic hurdler

Psshhh...Let us hear any slick fighting words coming out your peep hole
May yo family catch up first and save you if you've mustered up your own ego


Now For The Breakdown



Not a literal breakdown, or an emotional breakdown but a breakdown explanation of the varying contexts for the words highlighted to show the relative theme and or relative wordplay. See? I even give you visual contexts of wordplay :)

1st line: hotdog - referencing a type of easy food and also saying too someone they are too into themselves and addressing them as a "dog/dawg", this ties into the bigger reference

2nd line: campsite/ when a person camps (military lingo, to be camped and waiting for an enemy and surprise them) and sight like seeing a target in your sights, on site (a place/location). camp- people barbecue hamburgers and hotdogs often, "fire upon your grill" to fire- like inflict damage, usually with a weapon, or fists, to fire a punch. Grill- reference to barbecue/barbeque grilling with a fire and also a grill is known as someone's Mouth, their grill. Punch someone in the grill.

3rd line: beef like actual beef, or a problem with someone/hostility/animosity. High stakes, and steak, reference to beef

4th line: snapping (losing control) swinging (punching) vine breaks (environment of a campsite maybe? lol) simile use of snapping, and swinging on a vine which breaks

5th line:right, straight both types of punches, a sleight fake, a stutter/faint(boxing terminology) to trick an opponent as if you're going to throw a punch but don't, a scare tactic or diversion, a tight fade is a sharp punch (street lingo) you'll have to catch this fade (punch)

6th line: self explanatory, a filler line with an empty threat

7th line: bread and cheddar (reference to money to pay people/henchmen/goons/paid assassins/attackers) also reference to hamburger, bread and cheddar covers top and bottom of expenses, of situation of a beef, to handle it. Symbolism of a metaphorical hamburger lol

8th line: Another filler line with a light punch, a smile referencing jumping someone (many against one) like a hurdler jumping an obstacle

9th line: Let us- Lettuce (reference back to hamburger, what is in a hamburger) Peep hole, (nosiness, or someone's mouth)
10th line: May yo -May your, slang version of your- yo. Like Mayo- short for Mayonnaise, Catch up- ketchup, mustered- Mustard. All condiments referencing a Hamburger

Well, I hope you liked this quickly thought up, yet lengthy break down of words. Don't take the verse I just wrote above too seriously. It's only a fun example, and I'm not one for promoting violence unless it's boxing :) I love the art form of boxing



Thank you for reading this post in its entirety, I hope you can take something from this for what it's worth.


I'll still be continuing accepting donations until I can reach my goal to fly out to america with my children and wife to visit my family as it is very urgent indeed.



I've raised $1061 and .65 cents of Steemit Currency in total from both My Posts and Donations from Steemit Community Members this 2017 forward and $00.00 in US Dollar Donations so far towards my goal of $ 6,000.00 (Six Thousand) US Dollars and will keep everyone updated with every new future post that I submit.
This total amount will not only include donations I've received to the Paypal account I've provided: [email protected], but it will also include the Steemit Currency that I accrue/receive from all of my personal posts starting the 1st of January of 2017 forward calculated after a 48 hour time frame is finished for the payout cycle of each post to avoid miscalculating the fluctuating price of Steemit Currency.



For more information on that, please check my New Year's/Happy Bday Post

Thanks sincerely again in advance for all your help, anything and everything helps.


A SPECIAL THANKS TO ALL GENEROUS AND GIVING DONORS HERE FROM THE STEEMIT COMMUNITY!
@fulltimegeek, @papa-pepper, @scammymcspambot, @prufarchy, @trevor.george, @dreemit, @inphiknit, @hopehuggs, @jedau, @sumsum, @edgarstudio, @the-future


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.26 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you for the update

Very interesting post my friend, I'm big into word breakdowns myself, or breaking the spell of words ;) First one I ever did? Government. Govern- control, ment-mind, not a big leap to break that particular spell :)

Yeah I find it very cool to play around with the words and twist and turn them every which way. :) Glad you found this interesting. Yeah Government is a pretty easy one for minds like ours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09