Music Word of the Day: Quantize

in #wordoftheday6 years ago

Quantization is a process used in the production of digital music.

To quantize, simply put, is the process by which notes performed by a human are made by the computer to more closely match the tempo and beat of the composition. The digital music composer has the option of quantizing the notes to any division of the beat (whole notes, quarter notes, sixteenth notes, triplets, etc.)

Ableton-Live-10-1-021117-970x550.jpg
Pic source

For example, to quantize a performance recorded into Ableton Live from a midi keyboard, simly select “Quantization” from the Edit menu. Read more

Pre-quantize.jpg

Pic source

Music Word of the Day

https://musicterms.artopium.com/q/Quantize.htm

Every day I make an attempt to add a little bit more music and art knowledge to the Internet, one word at a time. Realizing there aren’t many comprehensive and complete online music and art dictionaries, I set out on a mission to compile my own.

https://musicterms.artopium.com

https://artterms.artopium.com

If you appreciate my efforts and you think I bring a good service to the Internet then please consider upvoting as your support encourages my efforts. Thank you!

Sort:  

nice, quick and to the point. good work! i just posted my first ableton tutorial on steemit too! hope to see more Ableton content pop up in the future.

OK cool. I'll check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83