You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art Word of the Day: Chop

in #wordoftheday5 years ago

Go look at my previous posts. @themarkymark thinks he knows what's best for steemit. He doesn't care that I have a following or that I'm legit or that I've contributed hundreds of hours of code for utopian.io. He believes my word of the day isn't fit for steemit and he wants me to leave. This is all quite random and started just a week ago although I've been doing this for years.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I've seen it for years. Thought it was sometimes a tad spammy, but generally inoffensive, and sometimes interesting. If you haven't been buying votes, I see no cause for flags.

What is "buying votes"? If I use a bid bot am I not paying for "promotion"? Is it not a bid, as in there's a chance of a loss? If the bid bots are a problem why not shut them down? Who has the authority in a supposedly decentralized blockchain to choose who gets to use bid bots and who doesn't? Doesn't every other social media platform have a way of paying to promote or "boost" your post? What's so unethical about that? Didn't the last hardfork change the payout ratio basically making it impossible to profit from bid bots? AND didn't the last hardfork make it easier to downvote? Why the double attack? Isn't the former already a solution, making the latter unnecessary?

Yes, I used @minnowbooster which I considered the most ethical choice. In response to the last hf @minnowbooster now donates 10% of your bid to various steem projects. So I am NOT "raping the reward pool", as I was losing money on bids. I bought $5000 worth of Steem originally and now it's only worth a couple hundred. Is it really a sin that I should want to use the steem I bought???

Anyway, that last post I did NOT use a bid bot, but it got over $2.00 in votes organically, or perhaps someone paid a bid bot in my behalf. But @themarkymark decided those people have made a bad decision about my content and he's felt the need to correct their bad mistakes and negate their votes.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're not paying for promotion, you're paying for a vote. Some bots arebworse than others, but I suspect a significant factor in the plummeting price of steem has been bid bot abusers and bid bot operators selling off their profits for Bitcoin and flooding the market with liquid STEEM. I think one of the consequences for that has been an extreme backlash against bidbots in general and their users now that #newsteem is here.

It isn't a sin to use your STEEM as you see fit, but it can be counterproductive, and if you're getting downvoted for posts that are 100% organic curation, that is certainly not cool.

You say buying votes. I say promotion. It's rather confusing when the factor in the ability for other's to see your blog is the monetary value of one's "vote".

I actually link to an article I wrote (2 years ago) about this very topic in every post I make. Here's the link. Tell me what you think:
https://steemit.com/artopium/i-admit-i-use-the-upvote-bots-and-here-s-why

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66