Word Poetry Challenge #8 : Sunsets

in #wordchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Sunset

AEA3129A-959F-461C-B98A-D8B6F7D15CDB.jpeg
I
How does one write a poem about a wordless poetry?
Do I write of the times when life was a dark place and it was its view that saved me?
Do I write of the times it rendered me speechless, too caught in awe of its beauty?
Do I write of the thousands of times when it showed me even endings could be pretty?

How do I write of sunsets? I wish I knew of a proper way.

II
Do I write of the kaleidoscopic view in the sky when twilight replaces day?
Do I write of the countless times I have stood on the same spot, graced by a changing beauty?
Which color need I honor when I write, would it be fair to just pick one?
Do I write of orange, pink, purple or red, or of countless sunset colors I’ve seen since life began?

III
How do I write of the sunset, when it has never needed words?
How do I write of a priceless beauty I’ve never needed money to afford?
Because for far too many times, I have looked in wordless wonder,
And the more I saw of sunsets, the more my heart grew fonder.

IV
It is beauty, it is grace, it is perfection incarnate,
A quiet grand performance, one of nature’s prettiest state,
Awe-inspiring, jaw-dropping, heart-thumping, living canvass,
It has made the day’s harsh light turn softer, on all the days it came to pass.

V
I have always found it difficult, other muses are not so tough.
How do I write of sunsets, will words ever be enough?
Because a million words I write cannot do its beauty justice,
All I know is in it’s presence, I know exhileration, I know peace.

2B69C770-F7AC-4A69-9979-6754BEE9F6B4.jpeg

Photos are mine, the first taken with a MyPhone31, and the next one taken with an Iphone SE.

Sort:  

Words will never be enough to write about sunsets.
But you did a great job describing its beauty.
The third stanza is the one I like the most.
It is in the focus zone. It is in the middle.
It also has four verses. Two of them being questions and the other ones statements.
It gives the feeling of balance.
Just like when witnessing a sunset.
We are in the middle of the day and the night.
Balance.

Ohhh. This is simultaneously insightful and flattering. Thank you, you write well as well. 😊

beautiful words and wonderful photography. we hope you can use philippines as one of your tags in future posts so our kabayans can find them and show their support.

Hi! 😊 Thank you very much. I will keep that in mind for all succeeding posts, thank you for keeping the Filipino spirit alive! ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95