TODAY'S WORD AND PRAYER

in #word6 years ago

TODAY’S WORD AND PRAYER!

TOPIC: After you have cried; what next?

MY PIC 23.JPG (Source is mine)

TEXT:
1 Samuel 30:3-4, 6-8, “So David and his men came to the city, and, behold, it was burned with fire; and their wives, and their sons, and their daughters, were taken captives. Then David and the people that were with him lifted up their voice and wept, until they had no more power to weep. And David was greatly distressed; for the people spake of stoning him, because the soul of all the people was grieved, every man for his sons and for his daughters: but David encouraged himself in the LORD his God. And David said to Abiathar the priest, Ahimelech's son, I pray thee, bring me hither the ephod. And Abiathar brought thither the ephod to David. And David enquired at the LORD, saying, Shall I pursue after this troop? shall I overtake them? And he answered him, Pursue: for thou shalt surely overtake them, and without fail recover all.”

WORD:
A lot of school of thoughts has many views regarding cry, tears and weeping. Some sees it as sign of weakness and helplessness. Others see it as sign of faithlessness or lack of faith. But the Bible teaches something different from the above views and I will be sharing some of it here.

  1. Cry, tears and weeping is not a sign of weakness or helplessness; but an indication that you are an emotional being.
    At Lazarus’ grave, it was recorded that Jesus wept. And here was the response of the Jews that saw Him weeping: “Jesus wept. Then said the Jews, Behold how he loved him!” John 11:36
  2. Cry, tears and weeping is not a sign of weakness; but an act of prayer to God.

Hosea 12:4 says, “Yea, he had power over the angel, and prevailed: he wept, and made supplication unto him: he found him in Bethel, and there he spake with us;”

Job 16:20 “My friends scorn me: but mine eye poureth out tears unto God.”

  1. Cry, tears and weeping are weapons of warfare that puts your enemies into defeat. It draws God who takes account of your tears to your side to grant you uncommon victory:

Psalm 56:8-9 “Thou tellest my wanderings: put thou my tears into thy bottle: are they not in thy book? When I cry unto thee, then shall mine enemies turn back: this I know; for God is for me.”

  1. Cry, tears and weeping are seasonal. It is never permanent. When the season calls for it, go ahead and cry. But remember, it precedes your season of harvest of joy.

“For his anger endureth but a moment; in his favour is life: weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning.” Psalm 30:5

“They that sow in tears shall reap in joy.” Psalm 126:5

Finally, to cry, shed tears or weep is not a sin or act of lack of faith, weakness and helplessness. It is what you do after crying that determines if you lack faith or you are weak and helpless.

David and his army’s home were invaded and all their family members and properties were carted away by the Amalekites. It was a painful experience that got to their souls and made them weep because of the love they had for their families.

In such a time, they apportioned the blame on their leader, David and thought of stoning him. David after weeping and had no more strength to weep, he didn’t fight his men. He didn’t quarrel with them neither did he query or curse God rather he encouraged himself in the Lord and inquired from Him for the next line of action which led to him recovering all that the enemies had taken away.

You have seen what David did after crying. When you are confronted with an experience that will trigger your emotions to cry; should you charge God with irresponsibility and quit the faith or apportion blame on others, fight and break up relationships? If yes, that’s where you’ll get it wrong concerning tears, cry or weeping.

DECLARATION:

  1. O Lord, hear me when I cry and turn my life around in Jesus name.
  2. O Lord, I cry unto you, arise and let my enemies be put to shame in Jesus name
  3. O Lord, you hold account of my tears. Tear apart whatever that has come to disgrace your name in my life in Jesus name.
  4. O Lord, I am a tearful sower, cause me to reap in joy in Jesus name.
  5. O Lord, hear my cry and let me recover all the enemies has taken from me, from my business, from my ministry, from my finances in Jesus name.

All right reserve. Copyright © 2018, Soughtout E. Matthew, www.semwom.org

Sort:  

Congratulations @sematt! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56618.92
ETH 2337.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40