Woof Wednesday - A Dog Tale.

in #woofwednesday5 years ago (edited)

Happy Woof Wednesday Steemit Family!

I never lived with a dog as a child although I brushed shoulders occasionally with dogs living with friends but never made any real connection with them. I had no negative feeling toward them of course, they just didn't really catch my attention and for whatever reason are paths never really crossed.

DSCF2304.jpg

That changed however when an unfortunate incident during teenage involving myself, my motorbike and a red setter doggie left me actually paranoid about them with a fear that every dog was out to bite me. I used to cross the road to avoid all woofers for a few years after that.

Today is very different. I live with a beautiful dog from a rescue centre and am amazed by some of the interesting things I have learned about his species from having him around.

DSCF6740.jpg

I marvel at how he has different sounding woofs depending on who he is woofing at and whether the woof is borne out of happiness, nervousness, anger, intimidation, welcoming a friend, welcoming a stranger, needing food or wanting to play.

A whole language of different sounds coming from this incredibly intelligent being. Of course I had read about dogs intellect and amazing skills but nonetheless it has been a charming education for me to get to know one first hand.

DSCF6742.jpg

Oh yes and then there is the unconditional love and devotion which are just the icing on the cake. I am blessed that my life took the turns that caused me to end up sharing experiences with a fabulous fluffer.

Now I understand the furry joy of sharing a ...

Happy Woofday!

Sort:  

Happy Woofday! ❤
Reading your post and reaching the end about the unconditional love, I can agree hundred percent. The woofers are just amazing and nothing can be compared with that pure joy and happiness they show to us.

OH SO TRUE haha Thanks so much Neli, Happy Woofday xxx

A wonderful Woofday tale!
What an awesome hound... definitely a cute puppy award - and grown up a real beauty - and looks super intelligent!

Up-woofed and re-boned :D

thanks very much, yes he is super intelligent and super cute! Lucky dog haha

Oh, @sallybeth!!! How sweet!! I am looking at those paws and can see that you will be having a lot of dog to love! It would have been love at first sight for me!

What did you name your new baby?

I can understand the fear that you had. My sister had an unfortunate incident and to this day, she will avoid them if she can. Sadly, I don't think she will ever have that experience of the furry joy, but, sometimes, you just don't know and the unexpected could happen.

Love your tale of love!

!tip .20

Thanks so much @dswigle yes I am very blessed to have got beyond that irrational state of fear and be able to enjoy the loving relationship and appreciate the wonder of the woofers! 😂 I am sorry to hear your sister has not yet reached her peace with them but I trust it will come when the time is right.
Have a blissful day my friend. 🤗❤️

Happy Woof Day ❤ i enjoyed reading your post. Your dog is so sweet and adorable looking. I long to live with my dog. He visits but can not live in our complex unfortunately. He lives with my daughter. She takes good care of him. He too is such a sweetie, so cuddly and full of joy. He's less than 15 lbs but acts as such a good guard dog! He was over yesterday. I took this picture. He's such a fluff ball. His hair is totally awesome. He's having so much fun playing with his stuffy toy ❤

20191015_210216.jpg

Wow so fluffy!!! What a beauty! That’s nice that he is still within the family if not able to be with you directly, what a sweetheart😍

🎁 Hi @sallybeth23! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Living Abundantly Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76