Welcome to Stars & Stripes Woodworks

in #woodworking7 years ago (edited)

Hi there SteemIt Community,

I've figured to start things out, I'd share a little about myself and my passion I have turned into a business. I've enjoyed woodworking for greater than 12 years now. It has always been a passion of mine to take rough cuts of wood and turn them into beautiful pieces of work!

3' by 5' Flag Case Watermark 2.jpg

​Originally, I started out fiddling with making things for the home, small gifts, ect. Then it grew into friends and family asking for me to craft up various ideas. I first got into making military shadowboxes during my 8 years in the service as a 3E371 Civil Engineering troop in the USAF. I would make these cases on the side, for retirees, and going away gifts for members PCSing.

Keepsake Watermark 2.jpg

In Jan of 2014, I went on my second deployment to Afghanistan. There I sustained a shoulder injury, which effected my ability to preform my duties. After a long, fought out process through the Medical Evaluation Board, I unfortunately was medically seperated from the Air Force. After separating, I began a journey which led me to the creation of Stars & Stripes Woodworks.

10301497_1442009262728022_2103143405838452944_n.jpg

​I started up Stars & Stripes Woodworks in April of 2017. Specializing in custom, handcrafted, retirement cases, flag boxes, and coin racks. I felt there should be a better option in capturing a service members years of service to our country rather than a cheaply built display case made in China that you can purchase from any big name retail store. So instead, I offer a product that is made with real hardwoods, harden glass, and with Veteran hands right here in the United States!

20170807_121659.jpg

SMSGT Opening Watermark 2.jpg

As a disabled Veteran, I find it an absolute privilege to capture someones service to our country through one of our products. I maintain my passion for the craft and the "attention to detail" the military taught me, into all my works. I'm hoping to use this SteemIt Blog to share my builds, antics in the shop and and other crazy things in my life that I love and do! I'm also over on other social media platforms including Facebook and Instagram, just search, "Stars & Stripes Woodworks".

Stay tuned for more posts on current builds and past ones! Thanks for visiting!

Sort:  

Welcome to steem, and our little woodworking community, great to have you here.

Very nice introduction and some beautiful work. I'll be following and looking forward to enjoying other work you share.

Welcome ....... They look great. I have been going to make one for my father's flag and have never got around to it......yours are very nice...

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62311.03
ETH 2443.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69