Christmas Gift Making is Under Way in the Shop!

Hey Guys & Gals!

So Christmas gift making is under way in the Stars & Stripes shop! Just finished up a 100 count Thimble Rack for the mother in law. Really didn't have a design for this one, and just kinda winged it with materials I had on hand and with the little time I had to get it shipped out.

20171214_142338.jpg

Made out of Cherry, I milled up 1/8" stripes of Purpleheart, and did a racing pin stripe design for the perimeter of the case. For each of the shelves, I just did a single, 1/8" inlay stripe of the Purpleheart. And for the joinery, I just did a nice, 3 pin box joint.

20171210_165028.jpg

Originally, I wasn't gonna put posts because of my time restaints, but, in the end, I am glad I did. Quick layout, and then setup on the drill press with a 3/8" Forstner bit, and all 100 holes and pegs were done in no time!

20171210_175941.jpg
20171210_175722.jpg
20171212_180542.jpg

Finish was just several coats of Min wax Gloss Spray Polyurethane. This is my go to for quick finishes, but usually, if time allows, I am more of a fan of the Wipe on Poly.

20171212_180537.jpg

The backer is lined with black felt.

20171214_142333.jpg
20171214_142342.jpg
20171214_142338.jpg

Quick little gift, but I love how the Cherry and Purpleheart combo came out! Definitely might tryto incorporate more Purpleheart in future projects.

Let me know what you think!

Sort:  

Great project. I like the color contrast. Why are the pins at the bottom center offset? Extra large thimbles?

Thanks! Yes, She has some tall ones, which will go on the bottom row. There are about 5 special ones she has, so I made a section that sits slightly ahead of the rest where she can place those. This will draw extra attention to those ones first.

Very nice! I've always loved purple heart ever since I turned a vase out of the stuff many years ago. And cherry is always sweet.

Thanks. I usually use purpleheart with maple for the most part, but saw someone make a cutting board with cherry and purpleheart and liked the contrast it gave. And cherry is hands down one of my favorite woods to work with, just because of how easy and forgiving it is.

Congratulations @starsandstripes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice....... This would have been a great gift for my mom........ I love purple heart, use it all the time

Just starting to dive in with using purpleheart. I usually stick with domestic woods, but have been tip toeing into the exotic wood world more and more lately. Love the look of purpleheart, but man, watch out for all those splinters!

Congratulations @starsandstripes! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @starsandstripes! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62499.32
ETH 2450.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66