You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to series: Setting up a Woodworking Business #3 Finding a good timber yard.

Great info. I have not used the trade yards, I buy such small lots. Found some Urban Lumber guys, as they call themselves, they recover trees from landscapers and munis, milll them on their property, sell slabs on craigslist. I also keep my eyes open for bulk pickup. Found some great scraps and bowl blanks. No way to run a business, but great for a hobbyist.

Sort:  

Yes it is surprising what is around. The only thing to watch out for is moisture content. Thanks

Yeah, I made the mistake of buying some slabs of acacia that are hopelessly pringled now.

I have only used acacia once when I first started out. I made a school boy error and thought it was chestnut, I made a whole kitchens worth of cabinet carcasses out of it! You can get moisture meters fairly cheaply these days.

I have only used acacia once when I first started out. I made a school boy error and thought it was chestnut, I made a whole kitchens worth of cabinet carcasses out of it! You can get moisture meters fairly cheaply these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58092.36
ETH 2469.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38