Pie Crust Tea Table, Applying an Antique Finish

IMB_g33Z28.GIF

Before finishing, I needed to make a few repairs. The scraping action of the beading plane is a bit rough on cross grain, so I smoothed it with some wood filler.

IMG_8558.JPG

IMB_xVr0mu.GIF

IMB_2o217o.GIF

I want it to look old timey, so I did applied steel wool soaked in vinegar to the recesses of the beading to darken it and increase contrast.

IMB_S1QJee.GIF

Then I applied a coat of danish oil.

IMB_lKi0sd.GIF

If you look closely at the grooves between the circle shapes on the spindle you can see how dark the steel wool turns the wood.

After the oil dried I wet sanded everything with 600 grit.

IMB_RwyWg3.GIF

Then I began brushing on garnet shellac, blending in the shaded areas, to highlight the contrast.

IMB_LNAB5G.GIF

Some glory shots of the final finish.

IMG_8771.JPG

IMG_8775.JPG

IMG_8776.JPG

IMG_8764.JPG

IMG_8777.JPG

Next time, mounting the table top to the base.

Sort:  

Man that looks good...... I see you are getting in front of the lens more..,,,, guess Hollywood is next huh?

But really, that table is Friggen awesome..... You do one thing I screw up a lot. You take your time........ I get to cutting corners and end up having to redo stuff...... Good stuff

That is why I bounce around between projects so much, so I do not rush to finish something while I am getting tired of working on it.

It looks great! I will be watching for the top to go on. I have a piecrust table project that I started years ago and you're inspiring me. Thnx for your posts.

Thank you. Finish that table! I would love to see pics.

Looking good. And that top looks interesting - looking forward to the back story on it.

Do you mean this top?

IMG_8037.JPG

Hi Skycrane,
Great color contrast background for the top as it pops the grain. Should we be expecting more photos or vids from the making of the top, I hope?

Yeah, I will post some more beauty shots soon

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators

woodlogo2.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61048.59
ETH 2372.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54