lichtenberg Fractal Burning

in #woodworking7 years ago

Hello Everyone! I am brand new here and I have decided that for my first post I am going to use it to help a friend. My friend is a woodworker and is trying to gauge interest in something new that he has been working on. It is called Lichtenberg fractal burning. Basically what he does is he (very very very carefully) applies electrical current to wood that has been dampened with a water/baking soda mix. Once the current hits the wood, it burns fractal-like patterns in the wood.

0713171332a.jpg

He is basically just trying to see if there is a market demand for applying this technique to hand turned vases, urns, bowls, etc.

I am looking forward to hearing your feedback! :)

Sort:  

oh, right I've seen youtube videos of it being done. I think its cool. I'd say there is a demand if you apply it to items that already have a demand, like guitars/ instruments. maybe dyeing the design would look cool too.

Thanks for the feedback! I'll mention dyeing the design!

I think it is beautiful! I can see using those patterns in artwork once converting it to digital files.

Would it be worth it for him to create a photo gallery so that others could potentially use the patterns?

Hello @quinnsarith, welcome to Steem!

Welcome

Greetings @quinnsarith! smart move joining the platform!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77