My First Woodworking project: Bauhaus Chess set

in #woodworking7 years ago (edited)

This year for a final project at my University architecture class I made a Bauhaus Chess set with guidance from a friend who is a experienced woodworker (He also made a set, teaching me as we went along, I made all my own cuts though). Below you'll find a walkthrough on the steps that I went through in creating my piece. Enjoy :)


Materials Used: 2'x9"x2" Maple Block, 2'x9"x2" Walnut block

First, I had to take the wood working workshops that my University offers for free to the students interesting in using the tools. After a couple hours of classes I was certified on the table, miter, band, and scroll saw. Although most of the cuts in the end would be exclusively on the table saw.

After the classes, I purchased the wood above and began the project. Both woods were cut and planed down to make a good even surface for use with the table saw.



These planks were then cut into strips that would be glued together to make the board.

After the glue dried, I planed the wood again to get a smooth surface on both sides and then I cut the board horizontally and flipped each piece to create the final checkerboard patterns.


These new strips were glued and the final board was now one piece. The wood was a little more fragile than it was before, and my mentor suggested we use a sander to finish the surfaces as it was softer on the wood.

After sanding, the board was now complete and ready for oil finishing.
Now it was time for the pieces. I had been contemplating the best way to go about cutting them, and give credit to my friend/mentor for finding a solution. This led to me using the table saw to complete the majority of the difficult cuts of the angled pieces.

After the time I spent with the table saw while making my board, it was a much simpler task creating the pieces. Many repetitive and precise cuts later they were finished.
And with that, the only thing left was to apply finishing onto the whole set.

I hope you enjoyed the project.. I am sorry that I did not capture every step in photos, something which I will keep in mind next project.

Sort:  

Dui lotto jetz. !popcorn !pancakes @automation @cleverbot

Akiinawaitji qixummaadhaan su hierz peukaru. Tiëp meugabông kajinmatsuk. Vorm letterkundige stolz.

Bist du ein junge oder Mädchen?

Haha. anyway do you want any proof that I am a human?

Hi @pydec, good work on the chess set and I like the style, but I had a bit of trouble understanding which pieces were which at first. Here's what I think so far from a combination of the unfinished pieces picture and analysis of the position with the finished pieces:

  • Pawns: small cubes
  • Rooks: large cubes
  • King: large cube with small cube "head"
  • Queen: large cube with circular "head"
  • Bishop: "X", representing its movement pattern?
  • Knight: large cube with small cube cut out from upper corner (also representing its movement pattern?)

Were you inspired by a certain minimalist chess set, or are these pieces entirely your creation? Either way, it's a beautiful set. Good work!

Thanks @kasparov, You got it! This was actually a project completed for an Architecture class that went over the form follows function style of design. There was a art and design school in Pre-WWII era Germany started by Walter Gropius where they stressed this style and other "modern" styles of the time. This chess set was one of their creations! You should definitely check it out if you enjoy the style.

Welcome to the woodworking world. Very nice first project and very well done.

@jist Thank you! It is definitely a new passion of mine.

Congratulations @pydec, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @pydec! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I like that piece of work, congrats. Looks very good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47