What's on the Bench Today One of My Most Requested Pieces The Laundry Organizer

What I have found as a woodworker is that the most requested pieces I have been asked to build are those that are not readily available online to order, without huge shipping costs, and not a common piece sold at Walmart or any department store. So I often search the Internet for new pieces that you would have a hard time to purchase.

One of my searches a few years back, I found this Laundry Organizer, so I built one, and showed it to my friends. I immediately had orders for 10 and had no problems selling more. So today I want to feature my Laundry Organizer and show you guys out there that it is really not that difficult to assemble. I use the measurements, based on the standard laundry basket that is sold at Walmart for $3.79 CAD. I have used these baskets for 4 years and they never have changed them.

laundry organizer 4.jpg

I just finished staining this one today, in a Walnut. As you can see I have build a few others as well. When you set your jig, you want to make a few as you never have a problem selling them. I have built these from white pine. I do not require any Oak for stability. The rails on the sides for the baskets to sit on are made from pine. I always allow for clearance for each basket, for those who tend to over stuff their baskets.

laundry organizer 2.jpg

There is no need to put a bottom or a back on it. I just put strips of wood to ensure that the basket does not fall out the other side.

laundry-basket-dresser-7.jpg

I use Tongue and groove wood for the sides and top, cause it gives that cottage feel, and it is cheap if you get the economy grade. But Really you can use any kind of wood, including yes, PALLETS.

laundry-basket-dresser-11.jpg

These would be the ideal measurements if you were to use this standard basket from Canadian Tire or Walmart.

And if money is tight and you can't find any scrap wood, you don't really need to have sides on it.

laundry O.JPG

You can get creative and put doors on it too, if it is going to be placed in the hall outside the bathroom. You can buy pre fab doors and the hardware at Home Depot.

Laundry Organizer 1.jpg

This is a sure blessing for a busy home, as many mom's have shared with me. I encourage you to give it a try. TIP...Bus the basket first, then cut your wood. LOL

To Join the Woodworking Channel on Discord
https://discord.gg/Ufx2H9h

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

That's an awesome organizational piece, I can see why it's so popular. Thanks for the post.

By coincidence I was doing a post today about doing off-grid laundry, I put a link to your post in mine.

Thank you we got listed...Your vote helped it happen! https://rados.io/posts/batch-2-asp-emt-trx-stish-listed-on-radex

That is fantastic new. Thank for the support my friend

I like it, these seem like they would sell easily. I can see one out of cedar with doors. $$$

Sweeeet! I need at least two of those in my life!
Thank you for the very informative post, maybe one day I can get my husband to make some... Or do it myself!
Take care,
@amymya

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators

woodlogo2.png

That is a good way to come up with a design idea. Nice useful piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55