Korean Joinery

in #woodworking6 years ago

The high level of craftsmanship, the accuracy and cleanliness of his work is due to high quality training as an apprentice and ongoing practice and dedication to the craft therefrom.

This is Korean woodworking, not Japanese but to my eye they appear to be identical. Even with the timber they work with. Paulownia timber is popular in Japan and Korea. It’s a lightweight timber that similar in weight to _______________ I don’t know the name of the species I have at home. You see at the time of purchase I was told it’s African Tulip but a little research has proven it can’t be so I don’t know the name. However, if you refer to the jewellery box, I made in Issue IV you see what type of timber I’m referring too. They also use paulownia to make surfboards, I was once interested in using this timber for my clocks. After having felt how soft it is I couldn’t use it no matter how attractive it was. I remember a surfboard maker offering paulownia at low prices and no one wanted. A few years later the trend changed and now he sells them like hot cakes at top dollar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63588.38
ETH 2595.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81