Making a Bamboo Jewellery Box: Part ThreesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #wood7 years ago (edited)

IMG_8652.JPG

Click here for parts one and two!

Step 1

On Friday I reprogrammed my toolpaths and cut version 2.0. The only part from the first design can be used as is, is the base. That meant I had a lot more room to play with on my 12x12" board, albeit with slightly less material optimisation.

FullSizeRender 25.jpg

It is sexy.

Step 2

Then I cut and sanded off all the tabs.

The last machine job for the main box was to cut joints in the end pieces. Because I can only rout one face using the ShopBot, I decided to use it for the inside. That kept the the divider slots and base recesses uniform. Then I carefully ran the ends over a table saw using multiple passes until I reached the desired dimensions.

IMG_8566.JPG

IMG_8565.JPG

IMG_8567.JPG

In the last photo you can see the length dimension I worked to. The shoulders of the end parts had to line up perfectly with the shoulders of the central divider.

I packed up and went home.

Step 3

Now the real game begins. No more computers and machines to help me. It's all sweat, blood and handtools.

Here are the two sets side by side. The left set is the one I'll use.

FullSizeRender 19.jpg

Here's a close up of the main issue I found with the sliding lip. You can see the one on the right is deeply fragile, whereas the one on the left has deep integrity.

IMG_8607.JPG

There are three totally unsalvageable parts. I put them in the circular file and wrapped up the rest for use maybe one day in the future.

FullSizeRender 21.jpg

IMG_8639.JPG


At this point you might be wondering, why is this taking so long? Show me the box! Jesse Pinkman on Breaking Bad made a box in like two minutes.

Well look. TV is lying to you again. Real life is different. Ok. Good. Moving on.


Step 4

The most laborious part of this project was fitting the joints. While my ShopBotting was precise it can never be perfect.

I spent a good four hours yesterday sanding, knifing and chiseling the tongues and grooves to perfection. Here's a crap time-lapse.

FullSizeRender 23.jpg

This gap is approximately a dozen thousandths of an inch wide, which is a measurement that I never thought I would think or type. America is one of only three countries that still measure shit in inches. The other two are Liberia and Myanmar.

FullSizeRender 20.jpg

IMG_8658.JPG

IMG_8653.JPG

IMG_8659.JPG


The central dividers have a different type of joint—I've no idea what it's called—which is a tight yet workable fit. I could have made the notches slightly wider but maybe it's better like this. I will simply mallet the parts together before assembly. Hopefully...

FullSizeRender 22.jpg

IMG_8655.JPG

Step 5

My final task yesterday was something fun.

I went to my local Home Depot to choose a stain. I want something darker, less arresting than the natural bamboo colour, but still light enough for a nice contrast with the wenge.

I licked my finger then wet a corner of the lid for reference. (Wenge is toxic so don't lick it directly!) See the difference in colour!

IMG_8662.JPG

Golden Pecan 245 it is.



Thanks for reading! As always I'm happy to take questions.

Part four is here!

Sort:  

It's great to see actually how much work goes into what we would normally go to the store and buy.
TV shows and Reality shows up people's expectations, especially the DIY building shows, the poor construction guys are having a hard time, as too many people seeing the shows doing the work in a day or two and wondering why smaller teams can't do it in the same time frame.

This is all true.

In part four that I just posted, I was going to go into how the obsessive time I spend on perfection would make it very difficult for me to earn a living from this kind of thing. I looked at some bamboo bathroom accessories in Target a few days ago. Mass produced. Glue everywhere. Loose-fitting joints. The majority of people value quantity over quality. It makes me sad but I'm happy I can make nice things for friends and family.

Thank you for taking the time to comment!

PS. Many thanks for the resteem!

What about markets like Steemit, Open Bazzar where people want things that aren't mass produced would that be worth while?
Great part four!

A thousand thanks.

I could do that, yes. I kinda tried to test the water with a post before but then got disillusioned. My friend said that maybe the post was too esoteric. Who knows.

Maybe try putting one in peerhub to see how it goes, when you do posts maybe put a link to your peerhub store, it might take a while but with more and more people coming to Steemit and seeing what's it about it will get there.
At the end of the day it's a win win, when you post you may get upvotes and when you sell a product you will get some steem also.
It's about building your follower base, giving them options of knowledge how to and an option to purchase if they wish .

That's the first I've heard of peerhub. Taking a look now. Magnificent!

Thanks for the tip :D

wow.. what a great creative idea... waiting for the next part

Many thanks :D

Cool ambitious project! For making boxes I like the lock miter joint. Upvoted!

I did a wood working project for my last post. Its a Steemit Sign using Shou Sugi Ban (ancient Japanese wood burning technique)

If you have some time check it out!
https://steemit.com/art/@bek/i-made-a-steemit-logo-using-the-ancient-shou-sugi-ban-japanese-wood-burning-flaming-hot-steemit-sign-handmade-wood-art

Thanks for your comment!

I've never actually used a lock miter but will consider it for the future. I like this rabbit(?) joint because it looks classy and is easy to make on the ShopBot, even though it takes a bit of work for the final fit.

I have checked out your post and upvoted. I also will follow you.

Thanks again, buddy!

Cool! I followed you!

@lenskonig,
Great post friend! Sharing those innovative ideas are adding a true value to the community. Really appreciate your effort and looking for your next post as well.

Cheers~

Thanks for taking the time to comment 😄

I'm almost ready to start glueing 😬

That's a good news friend!

You're a brilliant man! I like your posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79