Have You Ever...

in #wonder7 years ago (edited)

Wondered how many laws there are in this country? I have, and I have looked into it...and well, the answers I got were really answers on why there wasn't a clear answer. If that sentence didn't make complete sense at first...well good.

That is how I felt trying to find this answer out. I got the runaround, complicated and only somewhat clear explanations. For simplicity's sake, there are a lot, way too many laws. There are laws on the books, laws that are made by a precedent in the court systems, laws altering or negating laws , etc. The next couple of links are what some writers(probably more educated and more expertly researched than I) have to say: http://kowal.com/?q=how-many-federal-laws-are-there?
http://www.searchamelia.com/land-of-40627-laws-and-regulations-more

These are just two examples I randomly picked from the search engine while typing in "how many laws are there in the usa". I am sure, but not so certain, that I MIGHT be able to get a more concrete answer from some government site. Even so, I highly doubt even there I would find a quantifiable answer...ha, and that would be after going through the wringer. This is understandable though, as new laws are being passed or modified or voted on daily. What isn't understandable, at least not for me, is the fact that these numbers could be SO high in a free country.

We are very complex and complicated creatures. I get it. Possibly an alternative would be to be....less human...and more humane? Peace and love, and possibly understanding, but if not right on anyway my fellow steemians.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rcpc! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54396.77
ETH 2275.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31