The Potato Princess! Living the Good Life in the Last Best Place Montana!

in #womenofsteemit7 years ago

IMG_1516.PNG

This is one of the pictures taken last year while planting our ranch garden. The picture went viral among my daughter's friends and teachers. Her best friend even put it on her phones screen saver. Too funny! My daughters teachers said I didn't know your Mom was so funny. At the time my daughter didn't think it was funny and she said my Mom isn't usually so crazy. Lol! Teenagers right!

This photo expresses my vision statement of what I always say that we are "Living the Good Life". Trying to be somewhat self sufficient by living off the land and enjoying every moment of what really matters in life. I got the term from the book called: Living the good Life how to Live Sanely and Simply in a Troubled World by Helen & Scott Nearing.

https://www.amazon.com/Living-Sanely-Simply-Troubled-World/dp/0805203001/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_14_t_0?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=J4PZENVME1V593HBP99F

I highly recommend this book. I used it as my vision and my goal that took 20 years to achieve!

Check out The Good Life Center featuring the homestead of Scott & Helen Nearing:

http://goodlife.org/

Sort:  

Oh how great. I love potatoes ;) Last year next our garage we also planted some potatoes. It wasn't so many but one good dinner for 4 people we had. It was delicious. Great post my friend :) Upvote

Hey margaret I'm so glad you saw the link. Thanks for your awesome comment and upvote. I'm sure that dinner was very special and delicious.

Oh, yes it was delicious. The guests asked me from where I got the potatoes ;)))) That was the best for me ;)

Nice!!! .....I usually do the red poniac potato's an the white ......but this year I focused more on a variety of tomatoes for canning and they are doing great ! ......nothing like working in the garden , truly its an art, an the one growing has to give alot of time and commitment....an for that I applaud your hard work ! Keep it up 😀

Thanks! We planted russets, red potatoes and Yukan Gold. All were yummy. We just used the last of our home grown spuds. Now we have to buy store tators.
Agreed working in the dirt is so healing and healthy and gardening is an art-science. Look forward to seeing your tomato varieties this year.

Very nice! I will have to add that website to my morning reading for tomorrow. I currently stay in a very small apartment with a tiny 9square metre garden but one of these days I will be able to afford some sweet sweet ground. :D

I am so jelly of those that have their own space to run around, garden and grow their own. . . :)

Thanks for sharing.

It's awesome that you have a garden! And yes you will get your own plot of land in the future!

I did a stint up on the Oregon/Idaho border, dubbed "Ore-Ida." I always thought the potato princess would be found there! The more you know. :)

That is really cool! So true should be located in Idaho for that nickname.

Potatoes are amazing! I love them so much, they are quite nutritional, potatoes and milk is actually a complete food.

Totally agree. Nothing beats home grown potatoes and raw milk. Does a body good!

This is so cute! I love it! I have a sweet potato growing like crazy in a ceramic and I'm not sure what to do with it. I guess I can't just bury the whole thing in the ground, I have to bury each and every vine off of it correct?

Yum I love sweet potatoes and they are sooo good for you. I have never grown them but found a link on how to: https://www.rodalesorganiclife.com/garden/how-to-grow-sweet-potatoes. Hope this helps. Please post the results. Can't wait to see your harvest!

Thanks for your nice comment.

A life without dirt is certainly a life not worth living in my book! Great post, and thanks for sharing!

I want to live off the land one day as well, good on you for achieving it!

That picture shows genuine joy. I love it.

Thanks! Yes I am truly happy here doing the ranch life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62311.03
ETH 2443.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69