And the end is near...FINAL step in the Techtonica Apprenticeship application process!!!

in #womenintech7 years ago (edited)

Yoooo what's good with the STEEM crew??? It's been some time since I've posted, I have to get into a rhythm when it comes to my Steemit posts, and I will. As of now, I have just been attempting to juggle so much--the completion of my EP...
Wounded Healer.png
("The Wounded Healer" EP coming soon)

Taking care of the little ones and ensuring they are reaching their milestones...
20171031_160811.jpg
20171101_164321(1).jpg
(Photo #1 of my son who everyone affectionately calls Boodah. Check him out, just hangin' with letter P! Photo #2 shows my son Boodah and youngest daughter Nasiah working hard on their Dias De Los Muertos coloring sheets)

My programming studies, the list goes on...I think what I will start doing is writing out a list of the next few posts that I plan to post and just give myself a deadline for each one. That way, I won't look up weeks after making my video like "dammit I still need to post this!"

So I wanted to share an update with my interested Steemians regarding the apprenticeship application process I've been documenting. On October 29th the second web development workshop was held, this time covering JavaScript. Whyyy did no one give me a disclaimer with the JavaScript??? There are some of the basic concepts that I understand like data types, variables, if/else statements, etc. But when it comes to other concepts like functions and how they really work within their lexical environment, ternary operators and the likes, my noodle becomes twisted! I have only been exposed to the basic concepts in HTML, CSS and JavaScript and I still haven't sat and studied the DOM, but I plan to soon in hopes that it will give me a better understanding of how these three pieces operate and work in relation to one another.

IMG_4744.JPG
(Photo from workshop #1 covering HTML and CSS)

Learning JavaScript has definitely been challenging, but I like the challenge! It's like real mental exercise. So the second workshop was great. There were more women in attendance at this one than were present at the first one and they all were more advanced in their programming skills and level of understanding. It was super dope and inspiring to be surrounded by so many women who had the same goals and interest that I did. I had a few nerve wrecking moments, but by the grace of the universe, I made it through the workshop and was invited to apply for the Techtonica Apprenticeship program!

20171029_173538.jpg
(Me and Lincoln takin' selfies at workshop #2 covering JavaScript)

The application process included an actual in depth application asking detailed questions, a coding challenge, speed typing test and a few other items. It took me a few days to knock it out, but I got it done...whoo-hoo!

Yesterday I took the final leap in the process with an hour long interview with the founder and head facilitator of Techtonica. I feel excited, relieved, proud and definitely like I did accomplish something--regardless of if the final verdict has been delivered yet. I set a goal, made the effort to begin learning to code, applied for the program and followed through. If I don't make it in, I have a plan B so I really have no hangups about whether I'm accepted.

The results will be back the first week in December so until then, I can slightly shift gears and focus on wrapping up "The Wounded Healer" EP. The keyword that comes to mind when it comes to the release of this project is definitely 'patience' because I'm for sure not meeting the deadlines I set when it comes to dates I've set in place. I'm just trusting the process when it comes to its completion. This Friday I am scheduled for one last recording session in order to rerecord all seven tracks for final versions.

A lot of the things I've been going through when it comes to my music, to being a mother, a newbie coder and life in general have been teaching me to just trust the process and don't try to force knowing what the result or outcome will be, because you can never tell by the twists and turns that come as part of the journey. Patience, detachment and acceptance are all things in my sphere that have come to give me lessons that'll assist me in being a better me. I just hope to do my part in order to guarantee I assist in moving the process forward...

If you liked this post, please be sure to upvote, resteem and of course follow me @talea.monet. New Dsound and Dtube post coming up next!!!

20171029_173528.jpg
(Photo of some inspiring fucking words captured at workshop #2)

[Music Credit: "Die Alone" by Ms. Incredible from "The Wounded Healer" EP]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48