What can a Woman Do with a Machete? Tree Jenny & Friends -- Rainforest Tales !!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #women7 years ago (edited)

When I first moved to Costa Rica, like many, I was absolutely fascinated with swinging the machete. I loved feeling my body work and seeing the grasses fall to my feet with every swing. Sharpening it was the first step to safely doing the work and I even had my own file and spent hours in meditative moments, sharpening up my tool. I loved my leather sheath belt around my waist, and I felt especially safe, if not cool, when i wore my machete on seed collecting hikes and around my farm.

I realized what delicate work it is to swing a machete and not stick it in your leg. I admired many a Costa Rican who used their homemade hook in tandem with the tool to catch the grasses then cleanly swipe them away. The taller brush and brambles and thicker regenerating vegetation neatly fell with every step forward. So gratifying. I saw other women who knew how to wield this instrument, open a coconut, kill a snake, and stab fruit from overhead.

About 4 years ago, thinking about how to grow our organization Community Carbon Trees, we decided there was no reason NOT to give jobs to women planting and maintaining the trees our sponsors help us plant. It was a no brainer given the women could largely do the work, except some of the higher overhead swinging that often the men just had more shoulder muscle strength and reach. Yes, it's good to recognize that we women still need our men, even when we feel tough and bad-ass! Interdependence is key to success.

At first, we though we might offend the men by giving jobs out in the field to the women. After a few years, we understood that we actually empowered the men too by creating opportunities for the women in these vulnerable communities. Our impact study revealed that the men appreciated the women being able to contribute to paying the monthly expenses. We brought our reforestation work into the home through the women tree planters who often spent the dinner hour talking about their day, the trees they planted, their successes and new found purpose. We noticed the children heard about the reforestation more through their Mothers than their Fathers since it was such a special thing for MOM to be out in the field with the to her ladies doing a job typically reserved for the men. Our work became the topic for dinner conversation and the men and the women loved it.

There is nothing like waking up in the morning with a job you love to do. You can see the self esteem we have created with these women working with our organization. It feels great to meet them on the street now, see them with a little lightness to their step and a jingle in their pocket from their fairly paid labor. The men feel extra special when we ask them to do the harder chopping jobs and the ones where stinging wasps threaten or steep mountains or high river crossings. Working a team of men and women has been one of our secrets to long term success.

IMG_7548.JPGCCTlogo.png

Sort:  

Hi Jenny,
Great post!

May I suggest that you research better tags, so that you will get more views. It's such a shame that you only have 6 votes so far, but that is because hardly anyone is seeing your post.

'Life' is great tag that you used, as it is one of the most popular tags.
You could try 'nature' ... https://steemit.com/created/nature
'travel' https://steemit.com/created/travel
possibly even 'gardening' https://steemit.com/created/gardening
'adventure' https://steemit.com/created/adventure
'culture' https://steemit.com/created/culture

and if you are not already doing so, going and reading and commenting on other people's articles will likely gain you more followers when they find your comment interesting or relating to their interests, and in turn check out your page.

All the best!

thank you... yeah it see other people's posts and they have tons of exposure. i will try your suggestions. I have been surfing around a bit I love it. But i have so much WORK to do I cannot spend much time. Its 5 am here and i gotta get myself into working on a grant budget etc and so steemit is my favorite distraction I have to control!! Hee heee but I will keep posting and hopefully get out there!

Great attitude!
Enjoy your day!

Brilliant post Jenny and the same from @canadian-coconut. Spot on and a double Upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41