My Techtonica Web Development Workshop Experience...

in #women7 years ago (edited)

What's good STEEMIANS?!

I hope all is well for everyone. I've been MIA, but I'm back with some things I want to share with you all. This past weekend I was able to attend my first web development workshop organized by Michelle Glauser, founder of the program Techtonica.

Techtonica is a FREE (yes, I said FREE) apprenticeship program that assists low income women who want to begin a career in tech. Not only is the program free of charge, each apprentice is given a monthly stipend, laptop, and if they have children the childcare costs are paid for by the program. Say whaaat?! Do you know how excited I was when I found out about them?! Not only is it a program that can provide me with:

  • The guidance and the learning environment needed to focus full-time on learning to program

  • Childcare assistance

ALSO

  • I do not have to pay a single penny in exchange

  • They pay me!

Sounds like a win-win-win-win!

So the web development workshop this weekend was the first phase in the application process leading up to courses in January 2018 if accepted. The focus for this workshop was HTML and CSS. I feel really good about how I did! I've been studying both HTML and CSS and good thing, because I feel like it gave me major preparation for what was presented. The participants in attendance created a sample webpage and were rated on performance, how well we pair programmed, how well we struggled through difficulties to reach a solution on the other side and more. The next step in the application process is being invited back for a workshop in October. Wish me luck!

*Music Release Update: I'm preparing to release my next single called "Tears Just Fall" soon. I didn't get to begin filming the video as mentioned in the video, but I'm being flexible and going with the natural flow of the process. The release of this song is very timely for some things I'm going through in my life...my art is literally one of the only things getting me through and helping to make sense of the process that is my life right now.

TearsJustFallWild.png

"Tears Just Fall" (prod. by Uncle Flex) coming soon...

ALSO be sure to check me out on the new music platform DSound--you will find my current singles there--DSound Steemit post coming soon ;)

If you enjoyed this post, please show a little love and upvote, resteem and if you're not doing so already give me a follow @talea.monet

For more information on the Techtonica Apprenticeship program, visit https://www.techtonica.org

(Music Credit: Ms. Incredible ft. Ohmie and StarzwBarz "Shine Baby'' coming soon on "The Wounded Healer" EP)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48