For women only

in #women7 years ago (edited)

This weekend i went to a women's retreat at a large rural campground. Camp Gaea is run by a pagan collective to host pagan events and allow humans to commune with nature on land imbued with spiritual energy.

There is a large bathhouse with private and communal showers. The communal shower space faces a garage door that opens to a wildly beautiful forest view. Since I don't have indoor plumbing at the homestead, a hot and high pressure shower is an exquisite treat for me. Especially when I can look out over a lush forest and large pond below.

My routine is to visit the bathhouse to wash away the mundane world before I set up camp. As soon as possible, I head to the pond and swim to the flotilla. The flotilla is my favorite spot at camp.

I remember at the first women's retreat i attended, a dozen women from 13 to 60 lounging on the flotilla sharing stories from their experience. It was a magical moment for me. I had never been in a female only space. And it is unusual to see a group from such disparate ages enjoying each others company.

At this Gaea Goddess Gathering, i attended a workshop for crones. I didn't realize that it was a rite of passage associated with menopause. Even though I still bleed, they let me join the discussion and make a crown. The crowns were for the ritual of croning or crowning a woman of wise years.

The main ritual at the fire circle honored Demeter and called her to inspire us to rise with strength and power. The ritual this year had a dark and industrial yet ancient feel. Our hands were bound with yarn and we symbolically cut each other free. We were gifted runes with supportive messages and urged to stitch them together with our former bonds.

I had a magical time and im so glad to be back at the homestead.

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

that is really interesting. so is there like age restriction? (since you mentioned about menopause)

No age restriction for the event or the worhshops. There was a series of workshops and rituals around each rite of passage in womens lives. I didnt know that crone signified a women in or past menopause until i went to the workshop.

Celebrations and rituals fascinate me. Thanks for the post @steemsilo!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57515.20
ETH 2438.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34