You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Women - .1 Bounty - 135

in #women6 years ago (edited)

Yeah I think the equal pay is possibly overblown. I don't think you can really start a business and hire women that are as good as men and pay them less. I think there are already laws against unequal pay as well. Did you watch her video though?

Do you watch a lot of Youtube? I like Youtube and think it is MUCH better than TV.

I think an overlooked issue with women is it seems like a lot of them have to work. I don't think that should be the case especially if they have a husband that works. I think our society is wasteful when it comes to money and assets and of course government spending.

Sort:  

I think that equal pay is BS. The government should not decide what a business wants to pay to it's employees. I did watch half of the video, but because of the topic I had to switch it off. And yes, I do watch A LOT of youtube. Beside that I watch movies, TV series (which I download or buy) and documentaries. Nothing else.

You don't think women should get paid the same as men for doing the exact same job?

I don't buy into a gender wage gap, because as @mysearchisover said, there are laws against that. Studies have proven that a wage gap only exists because women tend to take jobs that pay less than the ones men tend to take.

My point in my video wasn't to bring on an aneurism previously caused by the MSM, but to address the very specific concerns I have of the digital feudalism that is Dtube, and the fact that it isn't even like a regular business, where someone makes their own money and gets to decide how to distribute it to their employees.

The money dtube is using to give out upvotes is a loan from @ned, on good faith that they will use it equally. If a woman produces great content, she doesn't deserve less upvote than a man. Not to mention, this only hinders the platforms growth.

I am far from a feminist, but I intend to make Steemit a full time gig, and it burns my ass that I put in the same time and effort as my male companions, and have better quality content, but I get upvoted statistically less, as do my female peers. That's some bullsh*t. But I digress. All I can do is keep on trucking until the price of Steem gets my SP to where I can support myself.

Overall I suppose the laws are good but if it was reversed I don't think it would be a huge deal.
I thought your video was good but I guess I'm about the only one who watched it lol
Maybe you should do a separate harassment video after this video pays out.

You could try using bots.

I'm not thrilled with how the big Dtube upvote pushes everyone into throwing up videos.

I think everyone should get paid according to what they are worth. It does not matter if they are male or female. However I don't think this is something the government should force. I have worked in IT for most of my life. And like you said: women tend to go for jobs that pay less (e.g. social sector etc). The more technical jobs tend to attract more males. However in my country there are quota that for all jobs that at least 1 third of every level of in the organisation should be women. Even if there are no good candidates. And that's some BS.

I think we definitely need to improve on that!!! I think people who run a whole state or whole country like the United States of America should be paid more than a college football coach.
It's messed up when sexism is the law of the land.

For sure. If someone isn't qualified, they shouldn't get a job, or get paid the same as someone who is.

I agree. You forgot to upvote yourself. You could sign up for @dustsweeper. #customerservice lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10