Meet The Women Of The Blockchain: Daisy Ozim of Blockchain for Social Justice

in #women6 years ago

“I have used my success in order to develop programs and platforms to educate, uplift and inspire all types of people from millionaire investors to underserved communities. I recently hosted a conference to support underserved communities in learning about and accessing cryptocurrency. It was an amazing turn out and now we have a whole set of community leaders that can further the education and message. I have also used my success to create a healthcare center in Oakland that provides free services to those without insurance!”
I had the pleasure of interviewing Daisy Ozim the founder of Resilient Wellness
Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”?
I came into blockchain after spending years in the public policy and social enterprise space. I saw blockchain as a way to finance critical projects that aren’t getting the funding support they need due to various restrictions. Blockchain is a powerful tool for creating trustless systems that eliminate the need for bureaucracy and streamline access to resources to address pressing social issues. As someone who was formerly homeless as a young person, I know

how hard it is to experience economic disenfranchisement and cycles of poverty. This is what motivated me to get involved in blockchain and act as an educator, entrepreneur and investor.

Can you tell me about the most interesting projects you are working on now?
The most interesting project I am working on right now is the B4SJ conference series. We are bringing together politicians, community organizers and blockchain entrepreneurs together to collectively re-envision the way blockchain projects are designed and implemented. I am also working on a blockchain for healthcare. This will allow those without insurance to access the services they need.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?
From the moment I stepped into the blockchain ecosystem, Ari Eisenstat has helped and supported me every step of the way. From supporting my vision and helping my focus on my goals, to connecting me with people who wanted to co-create a movement to support the development of blockchain projects that truly support and impact the most marginalized. I have also received so much support from Matt Quinn, founder of Starfish, a co-working space for blockchain projects. Also, Mimi Kaming is amazing! She taught me alot about blockchain and we are doing work to help women in the space heal from financial trauma. She runs the crypto girls group.

What are the 5 things that most excite you about blockchain and crypto? Why?
Ending generational poverty: By empowering traditionally marginalized people to build wealth with crypto, we accelerate closure of the wealth gap and spark change on a economic, social and cultural level within impoverished communities.

Decentralizing bureaucracy: blockchains can be designed to accelerate access to data and resources and eliminate the need for a human who can have their own bias and lack of altruism.

Accelerating change: ICOS and the decentralized, peer to peer nature of blockchain can assist in fast tracking alot of the projects we are working on.

Build localized economies: We can absorb the impact of a crashing economy by using blockchain to build localized economies that use a holocracy system and inherently rely on one another for advancement. Scott Morris from Qoin is working on this!

Improving transparency for publicly sourced funds: Blockchain can also allow us to see where all of our public dollars are going! Corruption and embezzlement are so rampant that it goes under the table. Allowing taxpayers to vote on where there funds should go and how money should be used is a great way to use this technology.

What are the 5 things that worry you about blockchain and crypto? Why?
Accelerate automation: People need jobs to survive. Employment levels are directly connected to rates of domestic violence, creating blockchains that can wipe out industries is possible. Be wise.

Accelerate fascism: Enhance the power of already corrupted leaders to surveillance, impede and interfere in the matters of citizens.

Increase wealth gap: If access to crypto currency trading is not rapidly decentralized within the next year, it will create a permanent chasm between the classes and communities will fall through the cracks in an already decaying economic system.

Lack of privacy: Since a group of people will have their data aggregated in one place, it makes it easy to implement surveillance. Add AI to the mix and you have an even bigger issue!

Impact natural progression: We want technological development to come swift but we also need to keep in mind that without nature, we wouldn’t have technology. Our technological advancement needs to go hand in hand with the restoration of the environment and preservation of non-renewable resources.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world? Can you share a story?
I have used my success in order to develop programs and platforms to educate, uplift and inspire all types of people from millionaire investors to underserved communities. I recently hosted a conference to support underserved communities in learning about and accessing cryptocurrency. It was an amazing turn out and now we have a whole set of community leaders that can further the education and message. I have also used my success to create a healthcare center in Oakland that provides free services to those without insurance!

What 3 things would you advise to someone who wanted to emulate your career? Can you share an example for each idea?
I would say, first, don’t let anyone define you. If I didn’t define myself for myself, they would kill me and say I enjoyed it (Zora Neal Hurston quote.) Second, please do self-care. That means mental health, good nutrition, exercise and spiritual growth. Couldn’t get to where I am at without it! Lastly, find a group of good people with strong ethics and morals.

Some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this :-)
Omg… If I could have a private lunch with anybody, hmmmm it would most likely be between Oprah and Drake. I really see a lot of similarities between me and her and her Super Soul Sundays are so inspiring! As for Drake, I honestly just love how emotional he is and I have so many dreams about him. I know he is thinking of me to :) lol

Sort:  

Congratulations @dozim91! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54180.99
ETH 2273.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35