Some of you may know that I have been searching for a better term than “woke.”

in #woke8 months ago

image.png

I find the term is used in a pejorative manner. But I recognize that it addressed a very real social group. A group that needs to be considered in our society. I think I have found that term for me. That term is identity politics. Perhaps to be precise leftist identity politics since identity politics can be on the right as well as the left. That is part of the attraction of this term for me. Talking about identity politics is not just an attack on the left. The issues connected to identity politics can be applied across the political spectrum. Thus it is more a descriptive term than the insult woke has become.

Now what is identity politics? One useable definition of identity politics is a tendency for people of a particular religion, ethnic group, social background, etc., to form exclusive political alliances. I can live with that. What people have been calling “woke” is a focus on obtaining political power and autonomy of certain social groups that some on the left have decided to support. Thus, I have what I see as an objective description of a certain political and social movement.

To truly define it we must consider what identity politics would not look like. And that would be a focus on universal principles instead of politics for the sake of a group, such broad-based politics was more of a staple of our political economy until lately. There is much more to be discussed about identity politics but for now, just defining it is enough. As I read more about it, I am certain I will have more to say about identity politics on the left and the right. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.54
ETH 2521.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53