White is white: Greek food at Hellenic Republic, Melbourne

in #wiwcontest7 years ago (edited)

Hellenic Republic is one of the Greek restaurants owned by Masterchef Australia host and chef George Calombaris. I went to the one in Brunswick with friends from Canberra who came to visit. The food there was amazing. We had a very good time enjoying the different dishes on offer and two of them fit into the "white is white" contest hosted by @dmcamera so I am sharing them with you on "food and drink" Thursday.

10552400_10152642496146264_464253390624924329_n.jpg

Juicy calamari


I love calamari but sometimes they can be too chewy and tasteless. This calamari dish was one of the best I have ever tasted. Amazingly tender and full of flavour. The kaffir lime juicy squeezed over it added the perfect tang!

10271639_10152642494771264_8594003387971082224_n.jpg

Taramosalata-white cod dip served with pita bread


I have never had this before and I loved it. Once you start you can't stop! The dip was so smooth and the white cod was not "fishy" at all.

We had other mouthwatering dishes there, including Kotopoulo Psistaria (chicken from the spit) and Loukoumades (Greek donuts). Great company and great food, what more could you want?

Photos taken with my Samsung Galaxy.

@snooway

Sort:  

It makes me hungry. Thanks for sharing.

You're welcome

I found a small Greek restaurant a couple of weeks ago in Phuket. It had only just been opened recently by a young Greek guy from Kalamata ( i remember this because they are my favourite olives ).I had a lamb Gyro
( Yeeros was how it was spelt on the board ) and it was amazing, especially the fries crammed on top of it . I want to visit Greece this year.
Good post :) .

The gyro sounds amazing. Thanks for sharing your delectable food experience with us. I would love to visit Greece too.

t looks yummmy dear thanks for sharing I upvote you and follow you

Thank you.

although it lacks color I could not help but savor seeing those photos

The shape and textures make up for lack of vibrant colors

Likewise, better you could not say

it looks delicious ..

It sure was!

te invito a pasar por mi blog amigo :d Saludos.

Excellent and fantastic post friend, support with contribution by comment

Wow this looks really yummy and simply beautiful....loved the dish....it's always fun to try different different dishes.

Yes it was so yummy. I love trying new dishes. Worth going back to try others on the menu.

Keep trying and do share with us everytime.

So nice 😄 can you help me voting on my posts 🙏💘

I am new on steem and I like your work keep it up

Thanks and welcome to Steemit

It looks delicious .yummy

It was very tasty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46