White Is White Flower Contest Entries

in #wiwcontest6 years ago (edited)

This is my first entry into @dmcamera's 'White Is White' Contest, which this week has a theme of (white) flowers...

My first entry features a beautiful tumbling spray of Hawthorn blossoms in our chicken field hedgerow. I was intending to go out and photograph the ONLY flowers currently to be seen in the village - snowdrops, appropriately enough - but the daylight has been so low and the weather so cold and bone-chilling that I decided to stay in and hunt through my Lightroom catalogue instead!

This photo was taken last spring and rediscovering it in my portfolio as I scoured it for white floral images has made me long for Spring even more than I already was doing - which I had no idea was humanly possible!

hawthorn-blossoms.jpg
'Hawthorn Blossom' by Jay Taylor


Next up is an image of a beautiful White Foxglove in our garden. Some people seem not to be aware that white foxgloves exist, but they do, and they're gorgeous! So here's a treat for those of you who thought they only grow in pink:

white-foxgloves.jpg
'White Foxgloves' by Jay Taylor


Last but not least is a photograph of one of our many Oxeye Daisies - I just love these cheerful little souls and spent ages last summer documenting (just for myself) how unique each and every one of them is. Add a few once-only, never to be repeated dew drop formations to that uniqueness and you have this:

oxeye-daisy-raindrops.jpg
'Oxeye Daisy With Dewdrops' by Jay Taylor


All of the above photographs were taken using my Olympus OMD-EM1 camera with my Panasonic Lumix G Vario 45-200mm lens attached.

I hope you've enjoyed this post As an independent creative and unschooling Mama, sharing aspects of my life and work makes me feel more connected to other free thinkers and creative people in the World…Your support, kind-ness and appreciation of my always-original content are most welcome!

Good luck to all the entrants in this week's WIW contest - fingers crossed that the judge enjoys my beautiful floral finds!

With love,

Jay x

jay-sunshower-again.jpg

Sort:  

great photo

Thank you! :o) Is there one in particular that you enjoyed the most? I'd find it hard to pick a favourite from the three of them, to be honest - maybe the Foxgloves, at a push... x

Congratulations! Your Hawthorn Blossom shot is a winner in the wiwcontest! Check your wallet!

Yay!!!!!!!!! Thank you!!!!!!!! happy dancing 💖

They are beautiful and remind me of my childhood springtimes in Scotland. I adore foxgloves in any color, but we can’t grow them in Florida, except for a very short season if we buy them already as a plant from the nursery.

Great job, some very beautiful pictures, congratulations for achieving it, happy Sunday @jaytaylor

Thank you, @gersson! Happy every day to you!! :o)

Lovely photos you taken. I appreciate your work. Keep it up. 👍🏻

Thank you! I take a LOT of photos - it's a huge passion of mine :D

All your pics are beautiful but I loved the foxgloves, congrats on winning :)

Thank you, Lizelle 💖 If I had to choose one, the foxgloves would be my pick also. I think the white ones are extra gorgeous somehow...x

Beautiful photography in white contest, congrats on your win with @dmcamera

Flowers we don't see, always lovely to see the beauty through the lens.

Thank you, Joan, for stopping by and for leaving me this lovely comment and supporting me with your upvote. Both are much appreciated! Jay x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70118.25
ETH 3744.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84