Can anyone explain witnessing please?

in #witnessing3 years ago (edited)

I created this account years ago. Barely knew what I was doing then. Now I know even less and it seems more confusing. There seems to be a lot of tech talk, and very little plain talk. I was prompted to vote for witnesses when I logged in so I did. I searched this site for "witness" but didn't seem to find anything that helped. So I just randomly voted for the first 30 since I had 30 votes and there were only 50 to choose from but I have no idea how that helps, what it does for people that have a witness node, and whether or not it did anything for me.

I connected a new Tron wallet too since I was also prompted to do that but nothing seems to be happening there after I imported my private key, maybe my power is too low? It mentioned SR but without defining what SR actually is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.15
ETH 2428.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65