You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @ura-soul Witness Update - Anarchy vs. Empire: TRON Replaces Top Witnesses and Takes Over the STEEM Blockchain

in #witness4 years ago

Our communications are dependent on centralized mechanisms at multiple layers. From ISPs to the physical network, we speak at the pleasure of overlords. The Steem blockchain itself is but a tertiary expression of this vulnerability.

In fact, this notification of our vulnerability to censorship is an extremely valuable warning.

Our ability to know facts enables us to act to secure our lives and property from danger. Today across all enemedia, we are being misled regarding a pandemic that may threaten all our lives, and society itself. Steem is inconsequential in comparison, as I'm sure everyone values their lives and families more than their wallets.

I sincerely and even desperately hope that devs, network engineers, and coders immediately undertake to create a mesh network through which we can reach each other as long as the physical network is powered up, to run blockchains, troll each other, or let us know about outbreaks of plague in our cities.

This is not a drill. This is life or death. We need not to exist at the pleasure of overlords.

Let's live at our sole option.

Sort:  

Distributed networks are really the only way to fully deliver the promise of a decentralised system such as Steem. I imagine we are not that far away from such a system and perhaps that is why there is such a clamour for control in these relatively early days!

Where there is decentralization, centralization will seek control.

It is why the world is disintegrating today. There has been power untapped by banksters they now seek to possess. The plague is their key that will lock us all in.

Edit: I believe this is a fatal flaw that has now been evidenced in legacy Steem, inequity of stake. Going forward, equity will be basic to creating a robust economy that will resist centralizing force.

I should add that my economic treatment of Steem, or rather my failure to treat it economically, has been due to my abandonment of banks, and banks being necessary for exchanges, and exchanges necessary to make Steem money.

As long as this system is governing the economy of a cryptocurrency, I will not use it as money. I cannot trust banks, who have stolen $hundreds of thousands from me. Decentralization is the key to monetization of cryptocurrencies without the intervention of banks, and in the event banks can be excluded from cryptocurrency transactions, I will be willing to entertain them.

That does not mean I will spend them as money. There will have to be nominal security features to enable trust, and I know of few cryptocurrencies that meet my standards today, and none of them use centralized exchanges with KYC.

I do not expect crypto to be usable as money for me, due to these reasons.

Is KYC a stock exchange like the New York stock exchange?

KYC is an abbreviation for Know Your Customer, which requires banks and similar institutions to collect identifying information on their customers, which authorities can use to track and prosecute those customers.

I wonder if KYC violates the 4th amendment potentially.

It certainly violates the 10th, and regardless of it's relation to the text of the Constitution, subjects property owners to the power of government overlords to enjoy the use of their property, which is contrary to the principle of sovereignty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00