My BitShares and Steem Witness/Project Update and Future Plans

in #witness7 years ago (edited)

Thanks for tuning in!

It's been a while since I last made an update about my witness status, as well as my current projects. Most of the things are business as usual, at least for me, but as it's common practice to write a little about these things.

If you've already voted for me, thanks, if not, I hope this can bring you into my current project status and what I do to contribute.

Humbly accepting votes for my witness on steem sc-steemit as well as on bitshares sc-ol.

As my attention is both towards BitShares, as well as Steem, I'm combining them both into one post.

Steem

Witness

My witness is running error free for the last months now, only missing a total of 6 blocks since the first day. I'm currently in #71 of all active witnesses, generating a few blocks every day.

I'd like to thank all my voters for their continued support for me. Especially to my larger voters @vortac, @lukestokes, @fulltimegeek, @tombstone, and @xaero1.

Seed Node

As a service for the network, and usually a good practice as a witness, I'm also running a seed-node. It's added to the seednodes.ref file to Steemd, but can be manually added with seed-node = steem-seed.crypto.fans:2001

Future

The fact that both the price and usage of Steem has grown massively means we're on the right track. There are still very much to still work out on how to manage. I'm sure we'll manage to find solutions for everything and that we can have a thriving and successful platform based on a great cryptocurrency.

My work for steem specific projects may not be that large now; the time is just not enough to do everything. I did make a Telegram notification script in Python, which sends a notification based on your settings. Available open-source on GitHub.

I wish to explore new things that can be built for usage with the Steem blockchain, much like Telegram notification, in the future.

BitShares

BitShares UI Work

My most significant focus last months has been on the BitShares UI work, where I've helped out with various issues and new implementations.

It's a great pleasure working with @billbutler and @svk, and I'm looking forward to bring more to the client in future releases.

Check out the BitShares UI Repository, and remember to file any bugs that you find or feature you wish so we can work on them.

Witness

My witness is still only an inactive backup witness, lingering on #58 at the moment, not doing any blocks as opposed to Steem. Without issues, it's been running the latest version, eager to pick up if needed. I would like to thank @fav for giving me his vote as a proxy. Fav is a great proxy for those that find voting difficult to keep up with proposals and witnesses. Read his voting journal.

Testnet

However, on the testnet maintained by @xeroc, I have an active witness running. The purpose of the testnet is to test the new versions and support as a development and testing environment. In my work with the BitShares UI, I use this frequent.

API Access Node

I also run the Crypto.fans BitShares Access Node located in Germany.

First started because of the lack of access nodes, maybe not in Germany but overall, and running for about six months now. It serves roughly 35,000 requests per day through a secure Web Socket connection. The node also serves as a seed-node of course.

With the new Infrastructure proposal I expect to see less strain on my servers, but I will always make sure it's running and up to date.

Future

I will continue to contribute my skills to the UI development, to bring it to the best standard DEX possible. Together with the rest of the team, I'm confident we can make it very good.

I will continue to run my witness, my Access/Seed node and of course my testnet node.

Other Future Plans

PeerPlays

I've long been thinking about supporting the PeerPlays network with a witness (I already run a seed-node for them). The idea of a decentralized gaming platform will be huge, and I think it's a worthy project to support.

So, the most prominent question for me is:
Would you vote for me as a PeerPlays witness if I started one?

Gridcoin

I will also, of course, continue to support my favorite coin, Gridcoin, as a maintainer of the Gridcoin Explorer, currently serving roughly 8,000 views per day. Launched in the late summer of 2016, it's one of my longest running projects.

I've been talking and promising an update to the page for a while now, and it's about halfway, but there are still things left to do to make it production ready.

Steemit Articles

I will continue to post interesting articles about research, science, and space-related topics. Mainly because of my interest in Gridcoin and the research platform of BOINC.

Thanks to everyone who supports me in my projects and articles!


Vote for me as Witness

Enjoy what I contribute to the community? Consider voting for my Witness on Steemit or BitShares. You can also vote for me as a Steemit Proxy Voter. On BitShares I would like to promote @fav as an excellent proxy.

By voting for me as a witness, you will support an active witness on Steem and BitShares.

Read my Witness Posts: BitShares, Steemit

Vote for sc-steemit on Steemit

Vote for sc-ol on BitShares


Proud Supporter of Gridcoin and BitShares

Sort:  

Nice declaration of intentions, sspecially for the GRC and BTS projects.

sounds interesting .. :) I support u

I'm planning to be a witness but still waiting for my new CPU...

Two questions:

  1. Will Bitshares add Bitcoin Cash to its trading portfolio?
  2. What is your position on berniesanders VS haejin?
  1. I'm not sure if there will be a bitAsset for Bitcoin Cash, I know there was talk about how to handle it if Bitcoin didn't become the majority anymore. The Gateway operators, OpenLedger/RuDEX/GDex can all add Bitcoin Cash to the platform if they wish to back it.

  2. I know it's a large thing and that the major issue is regarding the self-voting possibilities and/or that the rewards are to steep. At the moment I don't have a stance on this issue.

And what do you think about Steem Dollar, should it be pegged to the US-$ or completely removed from the system? After all, it seems like it has no real purpose except for confusing users and speculators.

edit

Another one: Do you know the user/person behind berniesanders, is it a witness?

I still believe that SBD serves a purpose. The sudden increase in demand has made everything jump. I'd give it more time before ruling it out, which I hope will not happen.

However, possible countermeasures to make the peg hold more stable may need to be addressed. I'm currently not engaged in that though.

Regarding berniesanders, I do not know who it is. He's not a witness as far as I know.

Which purpose has SBD? So far the only one I could find is "being pegged to the US-$". Aren't you concerned that SBDs and their structure of being an electronic fiat currency could harm steemit as a platform? After all, the peg didn't work and now there are thousands on and outside Steemit who have SBD in their wallets and think it's something they can store value in - although it's the opposite. This strikes me a bit.

Goood job! I should vote for you on BTS, although I don't have much there.

Very good

I am interested in your ideas and your insights, your post is very good and interesting, I had time to think like you in making post, your post is clearly accurate and clear meaning, I guided you from want to be the best like you, I am amazed to you, I am amazed dengab jepinteran you hopefully you continue to make and develop your logic and skill in making post, thank 😘

I'd advice you to stop spamming. Second time on my posts. I see you're posting the same thing on a lot of places. Try to be original, it will benefit you in the long run.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63907.47
ETH 2753.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66