⚠ Breaking news at Hetzner: Nodes not welcome? ⚠

in #witness2 years ago (edited)


Image credit

Big thanks to @michelangelo3 for bringing it to my attention, but it looks from this Reddit post like Hetzner may be taking an unwelcome stance on pretty much any crypto hosting.

It's unclear how senior "Katie" is, but this could be a sign of things to come.

The story's being picked up in the community: Further coverage at Cointelegraph and CoinDesk.

Hetzner are a huge player in the crypto space, with the linked posts showing the extent of their influence. In some respects that's a worrying sign in its own right; crypto P2P networks are supposed to be decentralised, which means having nodes as diverse as possible.

Hosting providers dictating acceptable application loads is honestly a new one on me. Thoughts? Anyone want to weigh in on decent alternatives?

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention, I got the info from @nerdtopiade, that's how the news gets around ;-)

An alternative might be Contabo, as written here.

OVH maybe another option? Now that I've had a sniff of dedicated hosting, I'll find it really hard to go back to a cloudy VM!

I do not know OVH. Before you order a server, you could ask @steemchiller for a recommendation, he would certainly have an open ear.

Indeed, I'll try and track down the Discord / Slack / realtime option for a chat.

You can reply under one of his posts. He usually answers quite quickly.

Unfortunately, I can't tell you where the Witnesses communicate here and whether there is a channel on Discord or Slack for this. That would certainly be interesting for you.

I could understand not wanting to have "mining". But I find it strange to equate mining with PoS. Running a steem node only leads to activities that are "normal" for a server: Responding to requests.
Thank you for taking up this topic!

Apologies everyone, I really should have linked to the Reddit OP so that you can see the full context.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.49
ETH 2617.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39