pcste witness update 25/04/2018 - warning to other witnesses - check your logs - has your server been affected by the green dick spammer?

in #witness6 years ago (edited)

Some witness servers recently missed blocks due to the blockchain being spammed by @notahotdog with a custom json file. see https://steemd.com/@notahotdog
some are still offline so if you are a witness, check your logs. If you have been affected , restart your witness.
./run.sh restart

My server missed a block recently so i checked my logs and found this......
serverhack.jpg

I thought i'd been hacked at first until i went into the witness chat channel, then i discovered others servers had been affected too. thanks to @drakos and other witnesses in the channel for advice.

My server missed 1 block and was only down for a short time.
Everything back to normal now.
Apart from than the green dick issue the server has been running fine.

server specs
64 GB RAM
Intel i7
2x2 TB HDD
1gbit/s network

current witness position : 145 (105 active rank)
Total missed blocks : 21
block size 65536
account creation fee 0.100 STEEM
running v 0.19.2

using @someguy123's steem in a box, @netherdrakes's conductor and @yabapmatt's price feed.

Please vote pcste for witness.
to vote for me go to : https://steemit.com/~witnesses scroll down the page and enter pcste into the box (dont use @sign) then click vote.

Thanks.

Sort:  

my friend had the same problem and don't happens on my witness server. You where not hacked, there was a problem on your docker. On Docker status my friend found there was a memory problem. Maybe 64 gb of ram are not enough...

not sure if its memory related as some 64GB servers were ok apparantly

did you verified your docker and container logs?

I saw that I earn like 8 places without getting any vote!!! Except your post, I haven't seen any news about it :-(

i didn't know about steemd.com... thanks man for sharing.👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39