WITNESS, SERVERS, NODES, SMT, BTC, STEEM, SBD..... INFORMATION OVERLOAD..... Q&A Time!

in #witness7 years ago

What an interesting day it has been, once again some of us were not able to get onto our site here via the usual https address, so some of us went onto Discord and started chatting away.

While chatting away about his and that..... the topic of “the lates attacks and not being able to log in and the nodes and servers all popped up!!!!!

No concrete answers as none of us were certain about anything. One of the ideas was to ask a Witness!

Yeah sure, if I didn’t know what it is like to have only 24 hours when we need a 72 hour day!

So what I decided to do was to place some of the conversation here and see what all answers people give to the questions and queries.

HERE GOES:

Person A:
"I think that this is a good time for the gods of Steemit to set minimal standards that are required for witnesses/servers

Person B:
I’m still not 100% sure how that side works. The witness’s only down the blockchain I though not the actual Steemit site^do

Person A:
IDK but this is definitely a time to get things up to speed

Person B:
the witnesses only do most of the back end. front end is something else
and the front end is what's getting attacked/collapsing under the sheer weight of interest
which is why esteem and busy et al works :)

Person A:
I understood that the Witnesses each had a server up and running too

Peson B:
i'm pretty sure the witnesses are just for the blockchain

ASK A WITNESS IDEA!

Person A:
I don't want to harass them with questions like that, imagine if every one of us asked a witness about stuff we don't know about..... they would have to have like 72 hours in a day

BTC is charging up up and away
hit like $5843

I can see the SMT tokens (some of them) really making Steem jump right up there and SBD to be a stable $1 USD.....
Based on the ERC20 tokens on Etherums blockchain, the SMTs could very well make STEEM and SBD seen on the USD charts alongside Etherum and BTC etc

The more I've been reading up on all this, the more I see a very bright future here.
Not just "wishful thinking"

MATE.... BTC IS BOOMING
ITS ALMOST AT 5900 usd

What gets me is that Steem hasn't jumped in price, I am sure that people are buying up Steem at this low now, but it isn't going up.... I guess these damn attacks have affected the "production rates"

If the new SMT's could be used as SP in our accounts, that would free up a lot of Steem for trading and make it a powerhouse in the markets

& the current steemit/market that I found out about just the other day..... it would become a must for all of us, again boosting the value of Steem and ensuring a stable SBD....

correct me if I misunderstood anything.......

....... (chit chat)

Yeah mate, I'm amazed, been watching the figures for a while now and this is like an all time high....
looks like a fantastic opportunity for BTC owners to buy STEEM and cash in in a few weeks once things stabilize here again.

WOW is all I can say...........

I don't see any issues, the demand for it is rising....
I just don't get why STEEM isn't being bought up in larger numbers!
If it was, then it wouldn't be at $1

I guess people are selling off all their non BTC to jump on the BTC bandwagon as it rises
based on what I see on the charts

From all the coins I have read up on, Steem is the safest, because of SBD, no other coins offer a safety net
This is set up way too good to be true....."

So there is the transcript of the conversation (the relevant bits of it).

Maybe I’m jumping the gun a little here, as I realize that no matter how much I have been reading up on the relevant topics, I am still way behind most of the people here on Steemit.
This old dog here is trying really hard to learn some new tricks and so far a lot of the information given to me by people I have had to go back and read up on it. Google can really be a mans very good friend! PROVEN FACT!

However, here I am trying a little bit of a different approach, to see if anyone else has anything to say or ask, and to maybe via a nice open and transparent conversation in the comments below help each other in moving forwards here and better understanding things.
I often say “put the pieces of the puzzle together”, without scissors and a hammer!

Worth a shot!

Look forwards to reading your responses.

Cheers.

Sort:  

when Steemit.com is not available, yes there should be a backup news flash page or some explanation, would be a responsible way to go

Could I get some clarity on some of the errors that are happening? Is it a fault of Steemit.com, the witnesses (I assume they perform like miners) or something going on in the blockchain?

If there is a flaw in the blockchain what needs to happen to fix it?
If there is a problem at the witness level ... should more witnesses be set up? I understand that people are voted to become witnesses (does this open a vulnerability around DDOS on the witness servers?
If it is an issue of steemit.com a current solution is to jump over to Busy.org.

However if anyone is interested, my company can create a solution that people could run on their local computers that could approximate what steemit does on the web.

Wait, what happened to person K, person K definitely was in that conversation 😂

Person "K" also suggested that I ask the Witnesses... in fact person "K" was very encouraging and positive..... but person "K" can sit back and enjoy the Q&A over a nice cold one or a nice glass of wine or what ever other beverage person "K" enjoys!

:)

I love ya and person K sounds great!

Congratulations @jackmiller! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64