You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm setting up a witness server, to learn best what it's all about.

in #witness7 years ago (edited)

Well, my witness and seed servers finally finished their block replays and started processing blocks, after five days or so. Three months from now, it seems that process will take maybe two weeks ... just to replay local data with 4 CPU cores on twin SSD drives, ffs. A year from now? Two years? Ridiculous!

Anyway, no matter what I do, I cannot get the rpc server to accept connections. Well, more accurately, it accepts a connection but then never responds ...

$ telnet 127.0.0.1 8090
Trying 127.0.0.1...
[pour, let cool, sip, then drink two coffees]
^C

At this point, I have to conclude that the software is just lame.

In fact, I'm now at a point where I believe the entire thing is just lame -- almost in scam territory, even. I cannot see Steem having any chance of scaling over the next year (or less) and frankly fully expect the entire network to collapse, once running witness or seed servers becomes simply impractically expensive, if not technically impractical for that matter.

Worse, far as I can fathom after several weeks, it appears that the majority of content creators and people buying SBD are just feeding their coin and efforts to the upper echelons ... under the spell of, "I want to be rich just like them". Ergo, just like any Ponzi scheme. {sigh}

I'll be killing both the witness and seed server after clicking send.

All the best.

Bryan J. Rentoul
Wellington, New Zealand

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69