Being a witness?

in #witness7 years ago

I have been on steemit only for a short time but have read a lot about the mechanics and the ins and outs.  It is a fascinating world and it has made me about 50 bucks in the mean time.   All in all this is not much but I slog on and keep posting...


Early on I set my witness votes and only recently I have been realising that I am one of the few that actually did this.  This came from a really nice article that @lukestokes wrote and he is posting regular updates on witnesses now as well.  Now all of this has been making me want to get involved but here is the rub...


- I do not really know anything about programming or linux or servers (I get the concepts and all that but the actual programming is beyond me)


although I will say I am not as bad as our Homer here


- I do not own a server (but I guess having a cloud server to set up would work just as well)

- I only have 150ish followers, and they hardly vote for me (sorry guys and gals, but its true) so how can I expect them to put me as their witness

- I read the @jerrybanfield article about being a witness and it just sounds to easy especially with the existing following he already has and my thinking would lead me to assume that its not (not a pessimist mind you, more of a realist)


so here is my question to the Witnesses, is it worth getting into this 

especially since I do not really have the money to burn on this, I do not really mind that it makes no money but would rather not be making a loss (profit is better of course)

I am fairly active on the platform and am really liking it as well so there is my enthusiasm going for me but is that enough... I like being part of the community and if I can support in my own little way other then just posting that would be good for me


Thank you for any insights you can give me and I appreciate and tips or tricks that might help me in this endeavour STEEM ON
Sort:  

If i could i would vote 1000000% for this article

Thanks for posting this article, it does reflect a bit of my thinking...

it's good to first get comfortable with the platform, and get to know people and how it all works, then if you are still interested to witness, it's easier.

This is my first look at it thanks for sharing @felander

If you don't have minimal technical skills, that's perfectly fine, you don't need to be a witness. You can focus more on your blog, keep writing content, improve your writing style, get more followers, get involved with communities, etc...

thanks, ...
I still might become a witness but will have to get a bit more involved indeed and read up and hone my skills... hopefully it will lead to it automatically as a natural next step

There's also the flagging of content! :) I know it's tiresome...every bit helps!

true as well, lots to do here on steemit to keep the platform healthy...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44