A witness update that sounds like a cry of heart

in #witness6 years ago

I got 2 blocks in HF20 and I am running v0.20.3

Well I do not plan on going on 20.5 as I am tired of this. I have been on steem for 2 years and everything is worst than it was before. If you do not believe go check the comments of the last steemitblog post:
https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/hf20-update-restoring-continuity

I should make a constructive post about what I don't like but I cannot right now. Too angry/annoyed.

This is reckless

Seeing how many changes are put with so little time, I am wondering how the plane didn't crash. I was betting on a rollback on 19.X. I don't think anyone can convince me there were enough testing done.

The system just looks so complex I am wondering why new users will come. The whole thing with RC sounds like we want to build some smart contracts capabilities or what not.

I am not making money being a witness.

I sticked to HF19 for a very long time while I could have grab some SP with many witnesses being down. I only make 10-12 SP per month while my server costs me like 30-40. And this is fine as long I feel I am helping safe and frequent user interactions.

I am really really tired of all this drama.

Sort:  

Do you have your own servers or do you have VPS for witness?

VPS. The requirements are getting pretty high, sadly, to run a witness: 64GB RAM, +150GB storage and a very good connectivity.

Where did you get VPS with 64 GB RAM for 30-40 STEEM?
I have to pay 120 STEEM (110 USD) at privex.

I am using 32 gb zram on the ssd + 32 GB of ram to survive with my server but I really need to upgrade very soon.
I am using this provider: https://www.online.net/en/dedicated-server
From what I remember, I get better machines than the one at privex.

Do you maybe know if there is any other payment method than bank account & credit card? I would like to change my server provider, but I don't want to pay with CC or bank account.

Thanks for the witness vote!

I don't think they take anything else than fiat. I remember I looked a bit around to change all my VPS to a provider that takes cryptocurrencies but I gave up. I could not find the machines I wanted because I needed good CPU or/and lot of SSD storage. Then I decided to run a witness.

I think I will look around again now since I new more VPS. I will ping you if I stumble upon anything interesting.

Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56