Steem Witness forum- The Recording! - Value and Organization

in #witness6 years ago

Witness Forum.png

Well, I don't know about you, but I thought the Steem Witness Forum went great. @andrarchy kicked us off by talking about what Steemit has been up to. Seems like the most important word that came out of that was "Organization." To me it sounded like Steemit has some lofty and tough objectives to meet for a variety of big code changes to a heavily used program and one of the most important aspects to achieving their goal is company organization. I pressed him a little about making sure things are delivered and he hit right back with just how much has already been accomplished.

I did my best to productively share some of the concerns that I hear in the Minnow Support Project, understand some of how hard it can be to "repair the spaceship while it's flying," and try to do it in a way that isn't disrespecting Steemit or Andrarchy. I do think there's going to be some amount of irony here... As you may have seen @yabapmatt and I lauched the alpha release of Steem Monsters (steemmonsters.com and @steemmonsters), and we're already getting product requests! Looks like I'll be spearheading some effort to control expectations and figure out deadlines etc to share with our userbase when folks can expect things and how well we execute on them. I did my best to be respectful of Andrarchy and Steemit. I'm a huge fan of both. You can be the judge of how well I did that. Andrew is top class and here's hoping you feel better bud. I hear rest.exe will be incorporated sometime in 2020.

Witnesses

We switched gears somewhere about an hour into the show to go from a general Steemit discussion with andrarchy to one focused on the witnesses. Everyone gave a brief introduction. People spoke some about what they're working on and what's important to them. Then I tried to steer the conversation to what's going to happen 6 months to a year from now. While I can't speak for Steemit I imagine that velocity, SMTs, communities, appbase, and rocksdb conversions will have all taken place. I think the witnesses are extremely aligned that these are the priorities right now. Once that's done it's not quite as clear as what the next step is or what the priority(ies) should be be.

One term that kept surfacing was value. The discussion was around how do we create and bring value to the Steem blockchain. That seems to have been in contrast to how do I extract value from the Steem Blockchain. The discussion also showed that adding value can come in many flavors. Specifically many of the folks there seemed to have some pretty different ideas as to what adds value to the chain, and that came off as very healthy that we have people with different skill sets looking to the future and to the present.

The Recording

Steem Monster Shilling!




Recruit your summoners. Bring forth your monsters. Have them fight in the grand tournament for honor, glory, and riches. Alpha is now live!

Steemmonsters.com and @steemmonsters

https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@aggroed/steem-monsters-alpha-release-a-collectible-trading-card-game-with-rpg-elements-comes-alive-on-the-steem-blockchain

Sort:  

got it

Alright, I’m going to eventually give in and buy into this game. Then one day we could all have a mega battle with each other.

Fantastic show. Listened to it all this morning.

Thanks for all you do @aggroed, this was the first time I tuned in, and I’m so glad I did!

I had no idea Anyx was pronounced Anyx, not Anyx :)

Wow, interesting

yes it is worth looking back witnesses eyewitnesses, let alone this advantage we can get together, thanks a lot for the information @ agroed.

The truth is.... 😂 😂 😂

yeah, that cliff hanger was intense

I did not try it but will do as these ppl are the steemit guardians. as a new member, your post is valuable thanks

Looks like it's a pretty nice game. I'll be with this game, and Then one day we can play Mega Battel games together

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65051.86
ETH 3163.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54