Witness and curator update

in #witness-update6 years ago (edited)

It's been a pleasure to observe Steem evolving at a rapid pace. The curation community has seen some challenges with a significant portion of the reward pool now being allocated to vote buying, trading, non-curator delegations, etc. Whilst all of this is positive economically, on a personal note, I use Steem as a social publishing platform. I shall continue using Steem as I wish it to be. I'm delighted to see new curation groups such as OCD, while existing ones such as SteemSTEM firing on all cylinders. If a time comes when Steem goes the purely capitalist route, I'll gladly exit the network with no regrets. Fortunately, I believe there's still room for consuming and creating quality content on Steem long term, and I continue operating to that end.

After struggling (as previously documented in my curator updates) and ultimately failing to be as effective with the Hardfork 19 rules as I have been from July 2016 to June 2017, I have scaled down significantly. I have now found a stable equilibrium, and still consume good content on Steem on a daily basis.

As promised when I first fired up a witness node, I shall only post updates when there's something significant to report. This will probably mean a couple of updates every year. As of 5th Nov, I'm no longer involved with the @curie's witness program. Of course, I'll be part of the Curie community, and as other curators participate in discussions regarding @curie's witness decisions. It's been a privilege to collaborate with the new curators and community members of Curie. In mid-2017, I fulfilled all of my personal goals with Curie multiple-fold that I set in Sep 2016, but I'm equally excited to see where the next generation of the Curie community takes the project. [PS: I think I just violated one of my witness policies to never list out my personal achievements, but I'll let this one pass :) ] Anyway, I hope this removes any conflict (though I didn't experience any as I was only in charge of the technical aspects, not the decision making of @curie's witness).

SBD are close to achieving relative stability in my opinion [+/- 5% average over one and a half quarters), so I'll be publishing 1.25% APR in the mid-December. This will be a long term change, which will hold unless over one and a half quarters of instability persists in the SBD market. Over the years, I will of course keep a close eye on central bank interest rates around the world. However, this interest rate is uncompetitive in developing countries, where the average is more in the 6% ballpark. In the scenario that a large amount of investment comes from nations in South Asia, Africa and Eastern Europe, I'll reconsider the APR.

I have nothing else to report on the witness front, though I do wish to start a seed node somewhere in the Far East, as that's an unrepresented region (to the best of my knowledge). Currently, I'm making a profit of $50/mo - if you have any recommendations for a server provider offering services in Japan or South Korea, kindly get in touch with me on Steemit.chat. I'm happy to take a reasonable loss.

Finally, going forward, I'll be voting for witnesses selectively. Mostly for long term community builders, curators, and promising reserve witnesses. If I unvote your witness, please note that you're probably doing a great job, just ignore my unvote. Developer witnesses - they are absolutely crucical - are represented well, so I'll focus my voting on the underrepresented witnesses that make the social platform tick. Most importantly, I'll vote for witnesses that promote and market Steem effectively and measurably outside the crypto world. Particular focus should be onboarding influencers on to Steem.

Looking forward to Communities!

Sort:  

Good considerations, and glad that the @curie witness ops has been passed on to new and equally capable hands. I think you're one of the most thoughtful operators on the platform and I'm sure also more than up for the task if you get to top range witnessing :D

Not sure about that... Don't think I can devote the same time and effort into PR etc as high ranking witnesses. Prefer to focus on curation/communities :)

Couldn't agree more to the capitalist route part

To be clear, a free market is quite fine. I just don't think this fad of "offer me something in return for my vote" is sustainable. It obviously looks very scammy from an outside perspective.

Steem is evolving and will reach new highs very soon

Good to get an update on what you are focusing on. Us minnows really do appreciate the effort that you and the curie team put into this platform

Hope to see more curators or groups focus on curating posts by minnows!

Nicely put! I'm hoping the details on communities recently shared by @timcliff from a conversation with @sneak at SteemFest2 will go a long way to encouraging the creative content we crave. I guess the trick will be to find a way to leverage the capitalist play to our advantage. SMTs may hold a clue to doing that.

Yes, eagerly looking forward to communities. I think it will help greatly cut down the signal-to-noise ratio and achieve a good balance of centralisation. I'm not clear on the ownership of communities though, hope to see some more details soon.

@liberosist Ownership is a question. Currently they see the community as its own account. Those who are part of the community are contributors. Apparently they are working out strategies to share rewards with the community. I guess we'll have to wait to hear more. Take care.

I think I just violated one of my witness policies to never list out my personal achievements, but I'll let this one pass

I will be keeping an eye on you...LOL J/K

Steemit to the moon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62