Witness Update: 2018.01.28 ~ New Steem Record!

in #witness-update7 years ago (edited)

Witness-Update-2018-01-28.png

Following in the steps of those greater than I, you will see a witness update on regular basis. The goal is weekly, however if there are no changes from the last update I will most likely skip.

Current Server Setup:

We are still running with the setup that I literally just bought. I plan on upgrading to a 64GB RAM server as soon as I get an idea of how fast the current RAM usage increases.

  • Intel Xenon E3 (8 Core)
  • 32GB DDR3 ECC RAM
  • 20TB Bandwidth

Witness Parameters:

  • SBD Interest Rate: 0
  • Price Feed Bias: 0
  • Registration Fee: 0.2 STEEM
  • Maximum Block Size: 131,072

SteemitDev Announcement

In light of the announcement that there was an issue within the code that left steem vulnerable to potential attacks, the server was updated within minutes of the news reaching my ears. No need to worry about our beloved steem blockchain but if you want to know more please refer to the link above.

Efforts To Improve Content

The two groups I created in an effort to improve the quality of content here are shaping up nicely. The Tech Bloggers' Guild is now being promoted within each piece I curate for @msp-curation. This has brought in a few new people looking to connect with other tech bloggers. This group is open to any and all #technology bloggers. If you would like to help other tech bloggers please let me know.

The Creators' Guild has undergone a lot of work the past few days. We have new moderators and coaches. @djlethalskillz is our new music coach and will help any musicians who join looking to make the most of their art on the blockchain. I have taken up the role of blog coach since I have been creating content along those lines for a while now.

We even picked up a proofreader for those in the guild. Big thanks to @ravenruis for volunteering to help us with that. Our moderators currently include @del, @ashleykalila, and my newest Steemian friend @waphilip! If you are interested in using your skills to help out other bloggers please let me know. Otherwise, all are welcome to join, and find help making the best content they can for the Steemit community.

Other Initiatives:

Outside of my own groups, I have been spending much time in P.A.L, run by the @minnowsupport project. There I help as many people I am able. This is on blogging topics as well as Steemit technology. Yesterday I released another curation post for MSP. The featured authors are all minnows whose posts were undervalued by a great deal.

For @thewritersblock, I do my moderator duties, attend meetings, and help find and vote on the best poetry from minnows for the weekly curation post. If you are a writer of any sort and are looking for a well structured, professional group you need to check out the Discord chat.

Inside Steemit Ramble not only have I been active in the "Pimp Your Post" Thursday group chat but am now a curator and official witness for the group. If you have not checked this group out on Discord, you should. The members are kind and willing to listen as you tell them about a post each week. There are lists of contests, post nominations, and so much more. "Steemit Ramble" is shaping up to be one of my top three favorite Steemit groups!

Thanks

Thank you to everyone who has voted for me as witness. It's been a big, busy week and I don't see it slowing up any time soon. I am always available to chat on Discord. If you have any questions for me about my witness or my efforts to make Steemit content the best online, please ask! It in my goal to be as transparent and available as possible.

Shout out to all you steemians leaving comments, voting, and creating, because this awesome blockchain hit a new transaction record. We passed 1.89 million transactions in a single 24 hour period! Talk about impressive! You can see the more information on @blocktivity's website. It's safe to say we won't be slowing down anytime soon!

J. R.

Sort:  

Thanks for the quick update @jrswab. If only I could help through some non technological ways.

Send me a DM, I am sure we can find a great fit for you in one on the groups I started up.

Okay slack.

Wow 1.89 million is a lot. How do you balance being a moderator and curator on writers block, being active in steemit ramble and P. A. L and your normal life. Seems like a lot of work. Well done

Seems like a lot of work.

Haha it is! I have not been this busy in a long while. Luckily there are a lot of great people in the Discords that pull some weight too. So I am not 100% needed in all of them all of the time.

Man, I don't know when you find time to sleep or eat with all the projects you have a hand in. Nice witness update, this is exactly the kind of post I like to see from people whom I am voting for :-D

Yes I'm way busy but so far I can handle it. The day may come when I have to start saying no to some stuff but as of now I am very pleased with the level of interaction I have with these amazing communities.

Also thanks for the vote mate, it means a lot <3

Kudos ! So humbled to be part of the fam, respect to all ur doing! Looking so forward to a massive amazing 2018

Preach it brother! This is going to be a killer year!

Thanks for the update. Transparency is essential​ and very much appreciated.

You are very welcome. I am always open for questions, unless I'm asleep lol

lol

I shall respect your sleep :)

Great update. Keep em coming man!!

The article is again well written and informative.
Thank you for providing the links to the groups, I will join them today !
Thanks again

voted you as one of my witnesses. :)

Thank you so much! Let me know if you ever have a question. I am normally reachable on Discord.

A friend told me about you yesterday, so i have voted for you as a witness. Good luck.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60180.20
ETH 2604.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54