Closing My Witness Server - Unvote Me Campaign

in #witness-update6 years ago

Last month I have switch to Contabo to cut costs. On there I can run my witness node at just $30 a month. That is a great price by the way, if you want to be a witness, highly recommend them, I have never missed a block.

But this month the bills came and I realized I could not keep running that server if with the cut down costs.

I did not became a witness for money, I am fine spending $30 a month to feel I am doing something, even if at just 1 block each 2 days. Even if those blocks had no rewards I would still be running the server, if my bills allowed me to...

So, my server is scheduled to be closed at day 26th of this month (February). I will start now my campaign for people to unvote me. I hope I can lose a lot of votes before the server stops running in around 10 days, so I will keep my zero missed blocks score!

So, please, remove your vote for me as your witness, if you have voted for me. I am really sad to say that, but please, do it before the day 26.

I will try to post about it reminding people every day, and maybe message people to remind them to remove their votes.

Thank you for your support.

Sort:  

Stopping the server or having people unvote you doesn't prevent missing blocks. You must disable your signing key by setting it to STM1111111111111111111111111111111114T1Anm

Thank you for the information, that is what I was looking for. Do you have more information on stopping a server "gracefully"?

I suppose you're using docker. If so, docker stop witnesscontainer

sad.

Well, it was fun, it is always sad to let go of something we like to do. But it will be sad if I can't get people to unvote me before the day 26. I don't want the blockchain to give me blocks and lose them.

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.17
ETH 2341.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33