You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Witness "pjau" Update Week 2

hey, I figured since you didn't miss the block that I should go ahead and vote for you. Now you say you've already had two, so even better. :)

Well, that's good news about the spammers. I wonder if that's trickling out to the Steemit public at large. I hope it is. I know I haven't noticed so many around. And the ones that are often under 25 rating if not already in the negative numbers.

One though did answer someone who downvoted him and said he was just an honest guy trying to learn and make his way on Steemit. He asked for the flag to be removed, but as far as I know, it's still on the original comment.

Sort:  

Well we have a list of nearly 700 accounts phished now. So a bit under 0.1% of total steem accounts. Some have restored back to normal. A lot have not. But there's a good side to it that comes from it. Education and awareness. But as steem grows there will be a new wave of it. Probably months a way I'm guessing. But all those new people will need to learn too. So it might slow for now but it won't stop entirely.

Man, you had me thinking happy thoughts and then you hit me with this. Sigh. A new wave of users, a new wave of opportunists feeding on the uninformed. Except they get craftier and they take some of the well-informed out, too.

I've had a discussion about this before with a couple of others and it doesn't sound like there's much taste for going after these people legally, even the phishing folks who I find to be criminals. The spammers are trying to make a quick $0.03. The phishers want it all.

Not sure if there is much that can be done on the legal side. The crypto exchanges need to get involved really but they don't seem to care.

Why would the crypto exchanges need to be involved to initiate action against someone here? To try and get the crypto back? I would think if the exchanges had a reason to do it, they'd be more willing, which means there needs to be an accusation, and investigation, a trial and a conviction first, right? I mean, I know there's a lot of convoluted things to get through, the identity of the original account holder being potentially one of them, but still, if the only recourse for users here is to be vigilant and alert 100% of the time, I'm not sure if that's going to cut it security wise when the masses arrive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61937.20
ETH 3004.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49